Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

We’re All Doomed

on November 7, 2016

Heh – got you with that title, didn’t I?

It’s true, though, we’re all doomed to hitting that unwelcomed state of Menopause.  It will come quicker for some than others, and none of us will experience it exactly the same way, but in the end, that’s where we’re headed.

I’m sort of mid-menopausal (I think).  It’s actually really hard for me to pin point when I started experiencing the symptoms because I was in absolute denial that it was happening.  For unexplained reasons, I thought it would kick in around age 70 (yep – I know it’s ludicrous, but there you are).  This denial led to a whole lot completely unnecessary discomfort on my part and I’m rather feeling it’s my duty to talk about it.

Part of the problem with menopause is that nobody really wants to talk about it because we all see it as the Threshold to THE END.  The end of youth, fertility, femininity, attractiveness, self-as-we-know-her.  It’s this element of fear which keeps us from actively thinking about it as another stage of life to be managed.

I’m going to start a series of posts about menopause to discuss the things I’ve encountered, some solutions which have worked well for me, the things I handled poorly, and overall experiences.  I invite my readers to join in at whatever level with which you’re comfortable, and don’t let your age stop you from asking questions or posting observations.

Some of the topics I plan to discuss are weight issues, hot flashes/night sweats, vaginal dryness, changes in skin/hair/hails, treatment options, clothing/fashion, product recommendations, diet, lifestyle.  Lest anyone worry, I’m not turning Wannabe Martha into Menopause-Central, but this is where I am, so it’s going to get some blog-time.

A bientot.

 

 


16 responses to “We’re All Doomed

  1. hearthie says:

    I’ve always thought of it as puberty in reverse, with similar levels of awkwardness as you go into the next stage of life. I don’t think I’ll mind being old, but I was really hoping to be as pretty (cough, thin) as I think I ought to be before I move out of adulthood.

    The randomly changing cycle times is where I’m at. It only adds to the fun that I have a daughter going through puberty in the house. Ah, pheromones – let me take a shotgun to thee.

  2. I have been so blessed. I kid you not, menopause has been just awesome. I know it’s crazy, but I have been trilling with the forest creatures and singing “most favored among women…” To really offend those who are already annoyed by such joyousness, I lost ten pounds and I think I’m getting younger. I look and feel much better now than I ever have.

    I did have some hot flashes, but I’ve always been cold so it was a welcome change. I actually looked forward to them. Hubby thought I was blushing, or else devastatingly attracted to him,so that was fun. I had some bouts of crying, but only over some really beautiful things. I cried at a wedding. I cried during communion. Six humming birds showed up at the bird feeder and they were so cute, they made me cry.

    My memory has gotten sharper, too.I used to walk into a room and forget why, but not anymore. My mind is clearer than ever.

    Some older women told me not to believe what they tell you about menopause,that it can be a wonderful thing. I didn’t believe them, but I do now.

  3. Elspeth says:

    I’m a few years behind you but it won’t be much longer before I get there. Time flies, and all that.

    Like Hearth, my biggest *issue* if you will, is getting fat. Well, fatter. I have never really been bothered so much about the next stage of life as long as I can look good along the journey. Yes, my vanity rears its ugly head again.

    I’m cold whenever I’m indoors, so a bit of warmth doesn’t bug me, if that is a part of my journey. I can just pretend I’m standing in the yard since it is hot here a full 9 months of the year, LOL.

    If we’re still in touch in 5 years Maevey, I’ll let you know how goes it for me.

  4. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    I can’t add to much to the discussion but I can link a gratuitous bear video. Humans are not the only tourists in Lake Tahoe.

  5. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  6. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Merry Christmas!

  7. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Mauve, you are missed.

    Not that much but, you are missed.
    I hope that all is tolerable if not well.

  8. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    A fun video that can be shared with everybody.

  9. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Maeve,
    i still check in to see if anything new is posted. Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  10. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    It’s something besides a bear video. Happy Easter!

  11. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    I keep hoping that you will come back. I am a silly bear. However, I have never linked this clip for you and it is all about your home town.

    Pierre Beauregard was a good second in command.

  12. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    I am a silly bear. I keep checking in.

    Happy Fourth of July!

Leave a Reply

