Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Reality-Based Menu – Vacation Edition – Week 2

on January 19, 2016

Still on time off, diet-wise- and loving every moment of it.

I know that last week I planned out through the weekend, but things were crazypants here, so that was more of a pipedream.  We ate well, of course, but had to take a more flexible approach.  I’m totally good with that.

  • Monday – Burgers, Rutabaga Fries, and Salad
  • Tuesday – Chicken-Zucchini Tots, Roasted Cauliflower
  • Wednesday – Portuguese Fish Stew & Salad
  • Thursday – Roast Chicken (or 40-garlic clove, if I can get Hearth to share her recipe, LOL), Green Beans Amandine, Baby Greens with Green Apple Dressing
  • Friday – Beefy-loaded Baked Potatoes; Steamed Broccoli

I also made Ina Garten’s Roasted Tomato Soup and a huge container of tuna salad, so I’ll be lunching on that most of the week.  The fruit platter is piled high with bananas, Honeycrisp apples, oranges, and pears.  There are lots of crudités in the fridge and I’m making my first-ever attempt at mayonnaise.

I thought I’d take a minute just to muse over some of the things I’ve noticed since taking this approach.  First and foremost, the terrible late afternoon fatigue is nearly gone.  This had me nearly in tears of despair – 1600 and I was nearly comatose; more often than not, a headache accompanied it.  I’ve had much fewer headaches – maybe 1 fairly minor in the last 10 days rather than an every day thing – and this means I’m eating a lot less ibuprophen.  Heartburn is pretty nonexistent, too – and I was waking up several days a week with that terrible burning in my esophagus.

Frankly, I’m delighted.  Have I missed anything?  Sure – I particularly miss milk in my coffee, but that’s just led to a reduction in the amount of coffee I drink.  Occasionally I hear toast with butter and cherry preserves calling me; and Saturday night all I wanted was a big bowl of Pasta Carbonara.  I remind myself I’m on vacation and the cravings go limping back into their hidey-holes.

Oh – and Hearth – bought beets; roasted them (well, attempted to any way) and throwing them in the aforementioned salad with green apple dressing.  Will report on the outcome  🙂   >

So, what’s cooking with every one else?


11 responses to “Reality-Based Menu – Vacation Edition – Week 2

  1. hearthie says:

    40 Clove Chicken (by Alton Brown)

    Cut up a chicken or buy pieced. Leave skin on. Sprinkle (both sides) with paprika, salt and pepper. Brown briefly in saute pan – just get some color on there, crisp it up a bit – in olive oil.

    Peel 40ish cloves of garlic (I usually use three bulbs and call it good). Don’t be fooled, the pre-peeled stuff doesn’t work for this recipe. I tried. Also skinned chicken doesn’t work properly.

    put about 1/4″ of olive oil in the bottom of a 9×12 dish, add browned chicken and garlic and the oil in the saute pan. Cook at 350 until done, which takes around 90 minutes.

    The oil in the bottom of the pan and the delish roasted garlic are part of the meal – one of my breadish regrets is not sopping it up any longer, or saving the extra garlic for garlic bread. But it’s lovely on potatoes or rice. 😀 Don’t waste it!!

    Let me know if you like beets. 🙂 I actually prefer mine nuked/steamed over roasted.

    (PS tonight we’re going to have BBQ chicken w/rice and broccoli, tomorrow we go out, Thursday it’s lettuce wrapped chicken, Friday hamburgers).

  2. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    My last viudeo was such a hit, I’ll try another Little Brown Bear.

    Maeve,
    Sorry to hear about the heartburn. I have it too and it is no fun.

  3. Jenny says:

    So, are you going dairy free? We ate out at Chick-fil-A tonight, delicious!! I’ve been eating a lot of oatmeal and yogurt lately, my husband has been smoking meat on the weekends and we munch on that for our suppers with a vegetable. I made a bunch of frozen breakfast burritos with low-carb wraps. I made a low carb bunch and a low fat bunch (with egg whites and veggies). It’s so nice to have something quick to grab.

  4. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Maeve,
    As for the heartburn, I am not a fan of taking medicine, what helps a lot is A&W RooT Beer. Don’t ask me why but it is effective almost immediately and there is no limit on intake.

    • Maeve says:

      LOL Fuzzie – Root beer is definitely NOT one of my vacation foods. But you’d better believe I’m going to keep a 6-pack of IBC ready for later use!

  5. Elspeth says:

    Ooh, rutabaga fries! Love them even though I hate the cutting of the rutabaga. How were they? Was it your first time having them?

    We eat very little dairy in this house with the exception of butter and buttermilk in cooking. And I put cream in my coffee. But we use/drink almond milk for just about everything else. None of the dairy alternatives works in coffee for me so I suspect that the current standard is the permanent one for me.

    • Maeve says:

      I absolutely adore them. Certain people (everybody else) get pained expressions when I mention them. I’ve made them several times and used small ones I can julienne on the mandolin. I have the world’s most insane peeler (by Titan – got it at Bed Bath & Beyond) so prepping them is really not that bad.

Leave a Reply

