Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

True Confessions Tuesday

on December 15, 2015

When it comes to those I love, I’m a card-carrying member of People Pleasers International.

This isn’t exactly a good thing, because it means that I tend to contort myself in all sorts of ways to ensure that everyone is happy – not necessarily acting in their best interests, you understand, but trying to make them happy.

It’s also bad because deep inside my core, I’m also a Type-A, Don’t Tell Me What To Do, Stubborn As A Mule, Irish chick.  AND because I actually do have a back bone that would make a T-Rex envious, and will literally beat an issue to death, resurrect it and then beat it to death again, I’ve (mostly) developed a general policy of “avoid confrontation unless absolutely necessary”.

Except sometimes I forget and then I have Le Regret.

I’m pretty sure that no one has ever had to eat her own words more than I have.

Le Sigh.

10 responses to “True Confessions Tuesday

  1. Elspeth says:

    People pleasing and a strong willed nature sounds like a heavy load. How to reconcile the two…

    • Maeve says:

      Sometimes I can’t – sometimes I just have to have the “just back down Maevey” position so that I don’t get myself in trouble. My real problems occur when I have to do things that make the kids/other family members not pleased/unhappy/etc. (as is sometimes necessary in life). It literally eats at me like acid. So then I go looking for ways of mitigating the situation – and that often isn’t great either. I don’t to well as the family “heavy”, ya know what I mean? I “can” do it, but it’s excruciatingly hard and stressful.

  2. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Maeve,
    Bears have to learn this early. We have to be laid back. Sometimes, we are undermatched.

  3. hearthie says:

    I am glad I don’t have to do it, because I’m a people pleaser too. Being the heavy is the worst. You know what you need, Maevey? You need a

    TURBO ASSAULT TACKLE HUG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    -picks up Maeve, squishes her, bounces up and down a few times for good measure, puts her back down, then hugs her again-

  4. “I’m a card-carrying member of People Pleasers International.”

    I like this! I’m afraid they kicked me out long ago. Something to do with my failure to care much about winning friends and influencing people. I do however, share your enthusiasm for being able to “literally beat an issue to death, resurrect it and then beat it to death again.” 😉

    • Maeve says:

      Welcome to my sandbox. 🙂

      Usually, I hope, I’m not quite so whiney. This sickness thing is kicking me all over the place, but this morning, finally, I woke up not feeling as though someone had taken a sledgehammer to me in my sleep. There is yet hope, LOL!

  5. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    I’m too bashful to really give a true confession. However, it has been a long time since I have seen a “Silly” here. That ladle that looked like the Loch Ness monster was a lot of fun. These posts wouldn’t have to come up on “S” days either.

  6. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Merry Christmas, Maeve!

  7. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Since Idon’t think there will be a new post until next week, I’ll keave this heree.

    Happy New Year, everyone!

Leave a Reply

