Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Reality-based Menu – Invalid Edition

on December 14, 2015

There is no menu here in Maeve’s House of Sickness.

None.

Actually I’m the only one who is sick, but since I AM the House of Maeve, there you go.

Perhaps you’re wondering why I have not sent forth the minions to shop for provisions and then cook them.  Because it would be too much work for me.  They’re both rather concerned with doing things exactly right (or rather, exactly as I would do them) and that means they ask questions.  A lot of questions.  Many text messages and phone calls.  Much peeking of the head into the bedroom to ask if the vegetables have been chopped correctly.  It’s just too fatiguing to even think about.

So here’s what we’re going to do.  Campbell’s Soup (until we run out) and grilled cheese sandwiches.  And any leftovers warmed up in the microwave.

It’s not that they don’t want to shop and cook, they do.  I just don’t have the strength for it.

So, what’s cooking at your place?

 

 

9 responses to “Reality-based Menu – Invalid Edition

  1. We are having the week before Christmas edition which has been:

    Sat: church dinner
    Sun: chickens from the grocery per husband’s decision and roasted broccoli
    Mon: leftovers from Fri and Sat (we got to bring half our church dinner casserole home)
    Tues: pork chops
    Wed: ????
    Thurs: ????

    It doesn’t help that my work hours changed last week and I haven’t figured out when to fit the weekly grocery shopping in yet. 😉

    Feel better quickly. Btw, keeping things like frozen pasta and pizza in the freezer helps for days when Mama is sick. 🙂

  2. Elspeth says:

    Sorry you guys are sick. I’d do takeout a couple of nights to breakup the monotony of the soup and sandwiches.

  3. Maeve says:

    I have a super-awful sinus infection and me being me, I just would not go to the doctor’s until it completely incapacitated me. Because I’m bull-headed like that.
    Le Sigh.

  4. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Thiis would be a good time for microwave food. That way, no one is responsible for imperfections. In the menwhile, I recommend lots of red soup.
    I couldn’t find a relavent bear video but, this one is funny.

  5. hearthie says:

    ((hugs)) We had that situation last week. We got Mexican take out once, cheap gyros twice, and … hm… something else. I don’t remember. 😀

    I made a roast yday and today I made fried rice, aka leftovers. Tomorrow the power will be out all day so ??? I don’t have a menu this week.

    Get well soon!!!!!!!!!!

    • Maeve says:

      That’s right – y’all had that crud set up housekeeping at your place. This thing is really kicking me and it’s my own fault for not going to the doctor’s last Friday and instead waiting until Sunday. I hate being so stubborn.

  6. Mrs. C says:

    Aw, Maeve. So sorry you aren’t feeling well. I hope you’re on the mend. Quite inconvenient timing with Christmas prep and all. As far as a menu, I’m winging it this week. Tonight was meat loaf, mashed potatoes and green beans. Tomorrow is anyone’s guess. Feel better!

Leave a Reply

