Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Reality-Based Menu – Out of the Frying Pan & Into the Oven Edition

on December 7, 2015

Angharad is studying for exams; Iseult runs the sound-board at school and there are activities every night this week.  I’m heading into my super-busy, report-driven week.  All this means that I need food which comes as close to preparing itself as I can – and that means roasting.

I’m not sure why it took me so long to figure out that the easiest way to cook was to let the oven do the work.  Stove-top is generally extremely hands-on (and let’s not discuss all the pots & pans which will require washing); but you throw some meat in a pan; scatter some vegetables and into the oven it all goes.  I will allow this one caveat – roasting requires more actual cooking time than messing about on the stovetop, so in terms of lights-on to table, it’s not the quickest method at first glance.  But when you factor is the relatively minor prep and clean-up, well, I think it rather tips the scale.  And speaking of scales, roasting is great friend to those of us working on improving our diets.

  • Saturday – Chicken Cacciatore (I make a riff off of Nigella Lawson’s excellent and very easy to put together recipe.  I think it took about 20 minutes of prep and 20 minutes on the stove – which is a respectable timeframe.
  • Sunday – Sandwiches at the end of a busy day
  • Monday – Roast Beef, Horseradish Sauce, roasted baby potatoes & shallots (virtually no prep and no clean up)
  • Tuesday – Girls at their Dads – leftovers for me
  • Wednesday – Baked Bacon-wrapped Cod, Rice, Haricots Vert
  • Thursday – Garlic Roasted Chicken Breasts, Sautéed Broccoli Rabe
  • Friday – Pan Roasted Pork Tenderloin, Shaved Fennel & Celery Salad

So that’s the plan, subject to change as always.

What’s cooking at your place?

 


5 responses to “Reality-Based Menu – Out of the Frying Pan & Into the Oven Edition

  1. Elspeth says:

    Monday- Chicken enchiladas
    Tuesday- Spaghetti bolognese
    Wednesday- Chicken noodle soup
    Thursday-fish, chips, Cole slaw
    Friday- Why..some kind of burger, of course!

    I’m on a serious healthy eating quest at the moment so envision lots of salad and veggies along side all the entrees listed. If you’re curious, my big girls and I are using this app. Me for weight loss, two of them for training and maintaining their current fitness. I kind of like it so far. Of course, it’s only been a week, LOL.

    • Maeve says:

      Thanks Els! I’m definitely going to check it out. Slug that I am, managed to walk every day last week (except Wednesday) which is pretty unheard of for me.

      BTW – how did Thanksgiving go? Did you manage to relax a bit?

  2. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Whenever I come here, for some reason, I want to visit and I am very hungry.

    I know, I know. I am always hungry.

  3. hearthie says:

    Today: Stirfry (which took more like 90 min this time) (chicken + eggplant + onion/carrot/garlic/celery + sriracha sauce + soyaki sauce) + fried rice + DH sent me out to get Tom Yum (spicy Thai soup) and fresh rolls. He was hungry. 15yo is sick. So much food. Total time, about 2.5 hours, including driving to pick up the soup.

    Tomorrow: Crockpot chicken thighs w/a chicken soup kind of thing going on over rice + fennel/jicama/orange salad

  4. I love using my oven to roast the whole meal. Last week I had meat, sweet potatoes, and veggies all roasting together with little work from me other than the initial prep and occasional stirring and turning. I love fall and winter roasting.

    I started a new work schedule this week so things are a bit topsy-turvy here right now. Here’s the vague plan:

    Sat: Meatloaf
    Sun: grocery chickens (2)
    Mon: leftovers while I worked
    Tu: sausage and broccoli with penne
    Wed: chicken in mushroom sauce with rice
    Thurs: leftovers from Tu/Wed while I work
    Fri: beef stew

Leave a Reply

