Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

True Confessions Tuesday

on December 1, 2015

Last night I closed myself in the closet and ate half a bag of Chessmen.

There’s no reason for it.  I can eat cookies anywhere, time, or reason I like, but there I found myself, like in the very very bad old days, eating in the dark out of sight of everyone.

They don’t taste as good when you can’t see them.

 

11 responses to “True Confessions Tuesday

  1. hearthie says:

    I may have snuck some of the leftover ganache yday from an open refrigerator… it was good. I should make truffles. I have no need of truffles.

    • Maeve says:

      I do that too…snack at the refrigerator – but it’s a whole different kettle of fish when I’m hiding. Needed to give myself a sort of “we are NOT going there again. Never again. Stop it now.” And would you please make truffles and have one for me??? LOL

      • hearthie says:

        Yeah, I feel that way about eating surreptitiously in the kitchen… just doesn’t need to happen.

        I will, but not this week. During the Festival of All Things Sweet that will be this Christmas vacation for 11yo. She has half my recipe books marked for attack. Don’t you think a nice peppermint ganache truffle would be good?

      • Maeve says:

        Oh yes – that sounds fantastic. Are you going to use a peppermint extract? Schnapps? Share how you make them – might do that myself. There really isn’t anything more decadently satisfying than a truffle.

  2. hearthie says:

    I was thinking of a tiny bit of peppermint extract in the ganache, and rolling the truffles in crushed candycanes.

  3. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    You silly humans! There should be no shame in eating cookies.

  4. Mrs. C says:

    Had two slices of pumpkin pie today. My reasoning was that I had to finally get rid of ALL the leftovers.

  5. Yeah, I snuck in an extra pecan bar yesterday afternoon when everyone was otherwise occupied. I will never lose the 20 lbs if I sneak extra cookies. And Christmas baking is upon us. Sigh…

    On the bright side, Hearthie can make lovely things with her daughter, post pictures, and we can drool over them without gaining an ounce. 🙂

Leave a Reply

