Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

I Knew It Couldn’t Just Be My Problem

on December 1, 2015

FINALLY – some actual honesty about “Easy” cooking for the family.

Recommended reading for anyone who has to cook dinner for more than him/herself.

http://www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2015/11/the-myth-of-easy-cooking/417384/

You’re Welcome!

12 responses to “I Knew It Couldn’t Just Be My Problem

  1. hearthie says:

    Grateful: For a mom who worked and taught me many ways to get a quick, easy supper on the table. And yes, I really can. Not fancy, but it’s good.

  2. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    It doesn’t get any easier. This is the bear equivilent of eating over the sink.

  3. Elspeth says:

    With a well stocked pantry, I can pull off a decent meal in less than an hour, but I have never (and I mean never) completed anyone’s 30-minute meal in the allotted 30 minutes.

  4. Maeve says:

    I think I’m going to expand on this post. There was so much in that article that had me nodding my head vigorously. I try to keep a fairly well stocked pantry, too, at least some pasta and the makings of a decent marinara sauce – nobody starves. But I’m right with you on the 30-minute meal nonsense.

    Anyway, the article seemed to be so in keeping with my experience and all I could think was, FINALLY – someone else who sees the scam for what it is!

  5. Elspeth says:

    You should expand on it. It is worth it. I had to chuckle at the mention on za’atar (apparently google does too, LOL). I remember when I first ran up on that one and thought, “What the…?”

    • Maeve says:

      I’m working on a post about this right now. Thinking back on things, my mother did not get all angsty about what she was preparing for dinner. And it wasn’t esoteric fare, either. She’d do something a little more special for weekends, or birthdays, etc., but regular weeknight meals? Spaghetti with meat sauce; hamburgers, ham steaks with scalloped potatoes, maybe roast been and baked potatoes, roast chicken and some veggies; creamed chicken and biscuits. She primarily bought frozen vegetables (except for salad ingredients) and our salads weren’t chichipoopoo either – iceberg lettuce with sliced tomatoes and cucumbers and Good Seasons Salad Dressing.

      Damn I miss that woman!

      • hearthie says:

        Well yeah. And you can get that on the table in 30 minutes. Minus cook time, but that’s what minions are for, sticking things in the oven.

  6. An hour is minimum to prepare a decent meal and that is with semi-prepared food and never includes all of the cleanup along the way. I keep a decent pantry, too, but the only meal possible in 30 minutes is a very simple pasta and salad meal, which I would be ok with, but the guys would quickly be looking for more to eat.

    The hardest nights for me are the nights I work, because I have to come up with dinner hours before dinner time and simple enough for my son or my step-son’s caregiver to heat up.

    I love to cook, but I mostly do real cooking on holidays and on my day off. A full dinner, prepared from scratch, is a two hour deal, minimum, in my experience. No wonder my mom spent so much time in the kitchen.

  7. hearthie says:

    I made stir fry (from scratch) in about 40 minutes tonight. Pork/bok choy/onion/garlic/carrots/walnuts/orange juice + white rice. I’m being difficult. 😀

    • Elspeth says:

      There are a few dishes that can be made from scratch in 40 minutes, Hearth. I don’t know that anyone is doubting that, especially when there is no homemade bread or flour involved. Stir fry is one of them.

      It just may be that you are faster with the knife/more adept/better skilled in the kitchen than most of us, and that is not at all unlikely. Very few of us had a mom who taught us to know our way around the kitchen before marriage. We taught ourselves and are just thankful that we can cook at all.

      I think on the main though, most meals from scratch that aren’t quick meals like stir fry take at least an hour. For me, that’s even the case with pasta as I can’t stand bottled pasta sauce and have found that a good hour of slow simmering makes a huge difference in my pasta sauce’s flavor.

      I salute you, Iron Chef Hearthie, LOL!

      • hearthie says:

        Well, Mom worked 60 hour weeks once you plugged in the commute, she wasn’t going to trust gourmet meals to the 12yo daughter who made dinner. And I cooked when I was first married and working 40 hours – including when we had 6 people at the table most nights. Not counting oven time, I have a large repertoire of meals that take little kitchen time. They’re plain – I’m not going to say you can make a gourmet meal that quickly. Meat + starch + veg + salad just doesn’t take much time. Burritos are super fast if anyone needs that sort of thing. We ate burritos at LEAST once a week back in those days. Brown meat, add seasonings, nuke beans, lay out condiments, chop some tomatoes, get out of the way.

  8. […] to Els’ encouragement to expand on my earlier post (which was really just a link), and because my blog pal’s latest post has sparked some […]

Leave a Reply

