Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

True Confessions Tuesday

on November 17, 2015

So.  There’s this recipe I’ve been dying to make for a bit (Roasted Cauliflower Carbonara with Burrata) – in fact, it’s been on my menu plan for what, two weeks now?  So, uh, what’s the big deal Maevey?  Make the pasta already!

Erm, no.  See, this particular recipe called for long fusilli.  I looooooooove long fusilli and it’s ridiculously hard to find here in Chucktown.  There is a highly chi-chi-pooh-pooh shop over in Mt. Pleasant which carries it (and a whole lot of other highly esoteric items), but that would have involved actually going there.  It’s not that big of a trek, actually, it’s more than I’m just too busy (lazy).

Now, you’d think that, since I’d ruled out traveling the 20 or so miles for a package of thick twirley spaghetti, I’d just get some other longish, thickish, readily available pasta, like, oh, say, linguine.

Well, you’d be wrong.  That fusilli was burned into the brain – there would be no Carbonara with out it.

Whatever shall Maevey do?

She turns to Amazon, that’s what she does.

Yesterday 17 packages of pasta were delivered to my door – to be fair, it was a case (12 packages) of the Long Fusilli, but then if you also bought a 5-box pack of Bucatini there was an extra discount.

That’s right folks.  I was not willing to drive 30 minutes to the store to buy 1 bag of fusilli, so I ordered 17 packages of pasta.

Le Extra Double Shame.

NB – I  made it last night and it’s one of the most luscious things you can eat.  If anyone needs some long fusilli, I can help you out.

16 responses to “True Confessions Tuesday

  1. LOL. You made my morning.

  2. hearthie says:

    Sounds sensible to ME.

  3. Maeve says:

    It wouldn’t have been so bad if Iseult hadn’t been here when the HUGE box was delivered.
    Her: What did you buy?
    Me: Fusilli
    Her: ALL THAT”S PASTA?????
    Me: What of it?
    Her: Where are you going to put it?
    Me: Please go somewhere else.

    • hearthie says:

      Has Iseult never been to Costco?

      • Maeve says:

        Well, she has (and Sam’s Club too), but I typically don’t shop in bulk. She was just being a typical teenage wiseacre (also, she just like riding that ragged edge of disaster).

        OK – what really got her was that I had ordered pasta from Amazon. As if one only use Amazon for books and movies and the like. But food? Quel Horreur!

      • hearthie says:

        I sent a friend in Montana an entire case of Gingeroos once through Amazon, she gets queasy often and can’t get them there. Don’t tell Iseult.

  4. Mrs. C says:

    Maeve, I’ll second Hearthie. Perfectly reasonable. Now you have all that pasta just waiting for wonderful recipes to get you through the winter (and probably spring)!

    No big confessions for me this week. I went Christmas shopping yesterday and got half of it done. The next and hopefully final trip will be tomorrow. Right now, I have all the goodies on the dining room table waiting for me to wrap them. They’ve been sitting there for 1 1/2 hours while I procrastinate. Time to put in a holiday movie for motivation and get wrapping.

    • Maeve says:

      You’ve finished half your Christmas shopping?

      • Mrs. C says:

        Yes, and I’m so excited because this is the first time in all my married life that I’ve been so on top of things. My Christmas cards are written out and stamped and just waiting for Advent to begin. This all started in September when it occurred to me that if I just plan for all the events of the following month by working on them in the preceding month that I would enjoy the events/holidays more.

        I admit that as I’ve gotten older, I’ve gotten more bah-humbug about the holidays simply because rather than enjoying them, I run around like a mad woman trying get everything done and resenting things like the plays and chorus concerts that come up because I saw them as a big time-suck to getting everything done. I ended up at Christmas Eve as a sleep-deprived, stressed-out nervous wreck and couldn’t wait for the holidays to end. I don’t want to be that anymore. My family deserves better. I’m hoping to go through December this year enjoying the Advent season with nothing much to do but decorate throughout the month and plan for my dd’s January birthday.

      • Maeve says:

        My cup of envy overfloweth…..

      • hearthie says:

        Mrs. C – you ARE the woman. -impressed-

  5. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    If you need help, I have friends.

  6. Jenny says:

    I’ve never heard of burrata cheese before, sounds good. I love the convenience of ordering online. Thinking about buying a year’s worth of face moisturizer so I don’t have to pay shipping cost all the time.

    • Maeve says:

      I love the stuff, Jenny, and the only place I can find it is my local Publix supermarket; of course, the chi-chi-pooh-pooh store might have it as well. A nice substitute would be a really good fresh mozzarella (the packed in water kind) which you could tear and add to the pasta. In the interest of fairness, I forgot the burrata and was too fatigued to brave he traffic to run down the road to get it; I used some fresh mozz and it was really tasty.

      You know, I looooove Amazon Prime for the free 2-day shipping on a lot of items. It’s totally worth the annual fee.

  7. Elspeth says:

    I’m late to the party but I laughed. That dish sounds divine, by the way.

Leave a Reply

