Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Reality-Based Menu – Reluctant Edition

on November 16, 2015

It was a dark and stormy weekend.  Not the weather.  The world.

I was a young girl in that city.  And even then, in the 70’s there were threats of terrorism – indeed, it was not uncommon for me to come home from school and see several SWAT-type vans across the street (I lived across from an embassy which was frequently the target of terrorists).  I suppose I’ve always hoped that people grow out of trying to kill one another – unrealistic, yes, but what can I say – I’m sort of Pollyanna-ish that way.

This week’s menu:

  • Monday – Roasted Chicken Thighs; Cauliflower; Rice Pilaf
  • Tuesday – Girls at their Dad’s – leftovers, I think
  • Wednesday – Shredded Pork, Sesame Broccoli; Lentils
  • Thursday – Leftovers
  • Friday – DIY dinner
  • Weekend – I’ll think of something

If I have the time, I think I’ll pick up a pear and some dried tart cherries and make a Clafoutis (this one, from Martha Stewart) and watch my favorite movie set in that city (Charade), and have my own little tribute.

Anyone else up for cooking something French this week?

19 responses to “Reality-Based Menu – Reluctant Edition

  1. Mrs. C says:

    A sad weekend indeed, Maeve. Pure coincidence, but I’ve been pouring over the recipes on a lovely blog called “becoming Madame.” It’s written by an American living in Paris. She mentioned that the morning after the attacks people were out walking, buying their baguettes, going to church etc. They were afraid but still going about their lives.

    https://becomingmadame.wordpress.com/

    On with my menu (nothing French planned but maybe next week)

    Fri- Pan fried Cod, Baked Mac n Cheese, Stewed Tomatoes

    Sat-leftovers

    Sun-Garlic Maple Roast Chicken and Potatoes, Applesauce, Carrot cake for dessert

    Mon-leftovers

    Tues-Ham slices, Baked Sweet Potatoes, Broccoli

    Wed-leftover ham, green salad, rice pilaf

    Thurs-Pasta salad, raw veggie platter and dip

    • Maeve says:

      Mrs. C – that site is lovely and I’m following it now! Thanks for sharing it.

      You know, a baguette, some brie, some pears, walnuts and maybe olives, you have the perfect French meal – well, add a bit of ham and it’s perfect.

      • My favorite kind of meal. I must be part French.

      • Maeve says:

        Mine, too, actually. There’s something about putting together a platter of items from which you can create a delightful bite that is just so appealing to me. I feel the same way about an antipasto with good bread and a nice wine. Same kind of experience.

      • Mrs. C says:

        That meal sounds heavenly. I’ve been obsessing over articles about how the french view food and the ritual/time spent that they give to it. One article mentioned that it comes from their Catholic roots and the importance of being together with family.

        This blog has a good 3-part overview of how they view and “do” food differently there. I especially like the idea of smaller portions of many different courses rather than the big portions of just two or three things that we Americans seem to eat. It seems that there are so many different and delightful dishes to sample that you don’t need a huge portion of anything to feel satisfied. Other interesting things is that other than children, they rarely snack between the three meals a day and that the meal times are pretty set in stone in which most everything shuts down between 12-2 or 3pm so people can have their biggest meal of the day either in restaurants (which are only open at certain times of the day rather than 24/7) or they can go home to eat with their children if the kids aren’t eating at school. The school lunches for children are amazing too and they are actually given a reasonable amount of time to eat. Here, they get a 1/2 hour. Fifteen minutes of which is spent getting to the cafeteria and standing in the lunch line with little time to eat.

        Of course, the Americanized ways are beginning to creep into their culture but it’s still not to the extent that we have here. Maybe you can give the perspective of having lived there as a child. Are these articles fairly accurate about French food culture that you remember?

        Here is the series

        https://becomingmadame.wordpress.com/2012/08/31/what-ive-learned-from-the-french-eating-right-no-1/

        https://becomingmadame.wordpress.com/2012/09/06/eating-like-the-french-no-2-portion-size/

        https://becomingmadame.wordpress.com/2012/09/18/eating-like-the-french-no-3-a-table-a-week-of-french-dinners/

      • Maeve says:

        Mrs. C, yes – much of that I do remember. And this has me thinking that maybe I’ll employ a little of that next week – couple nights a week. Did you see that lovely menu she posted? I could certainly think along those terms. Actually, that’s a rather exciting prospect!

  2. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    This may only work on boys but, this makes me feel better. Warning, lots of clips from battles scenes.

    It you’re interested the whole billiant miniseries is on youtube, no charge.

  3. hearthie says:

    Sad weekend indeed. I’m afraid Hungarian and Italian are a go – not so much French. But I don’t know that I have any French recipes on my regular tap.

    Monday: We had leftovers… um… I mean we had fried rice. DH had me buy a roasted chicken to eat with that. So … we had meat loosely glued together with rice and vegetables and scrambled egg. It was good. I had some cranberry sauce with it, because I like it and I wanted some. Hey, you wanted culinary confessions…. 😀

    Tuesday: Chicken fettucini alfredo w/broccoli and a salad.

    Wednesday: Out

    Thursday: Chicken Paprikash, in honor of it no longer being five billion degrees out, and sad puppy eyes from my son. Over butter noodles and with some sort of vegetation, which will present itself. There is always vegetation.

    • Maeve says:

      we had no vegetation last night – super crispy chicken thighs (best I’ve ever made) and the Carbonara I’ve been whining about for the last couple weeks. Totally delish.

  4. Je suis vraiment désolé. It made me feel truly ill to see what happened.

    I didn’t have anything French planned this week (I just made Boeuf Bourguignon last week), but you have tempted me with that clafoutis recipe. Did the Martha Stewart one come out for you? I’m thinking of using my old Julia Child cookbook.

    Menu to follow later. Work calls.

  5. I don’t have a Trader Joe’s nearby so I will have to settle for what I can find nearby.

    Our menu this week:

    F: leftover Boeuf Bourguignon and French bread with garlic mashed potatoes
    Sat: chicken roasted with autumn vegetables
    Sun: leftover chicken
    Mon: tuna casserole, green beans, homemade applesauce (yum!)
    Tues: pork tenderloin, corn spoonbread casserole, green salad with pears and walnuts
    Wed: turkey vegetable chili and cornbread
    Thurs: slow cooker meatballs, spaghetti, and green vegetable

    I read the first of the articles on French eating and so agree with her. Eating things in season is definitely the way to go. I’m currently enjoying pears, apples, squash, stews, soups, and other autumnal fare.

  6. Psalm1Wife says:

    Hi Maeve,
    I am a new reader here, only been aboard for about a month, but really enjoy your menus and true confessions Tuesday’s. This week is hunting week for my husband and his friends so my menu has been a bit more for quantity as opposed to quality. (who am I kidding, I hardly cook for quality). Anyway:

    Sunday: Baked BBQ’d drumsticks and Scalloped Potatoes

    Monday: Broccoli and Cheese Soup and Corn Bread made with Creamed Corn and Cheddar Cheese (also heated up leftover drumsticks)

    Tuesday: Added Cauliflower to Leftover Soup and French Bread (coincidence) served with pan fried Cod

    Today: Random Tex Mex Chicken Soup concoction in crock pot with another loaf of French Bread

    Thursday: BLT sandwiches and Loaded baked potatoes (i have three packages of pre packed green onions from this weekend when I intended on making them wraped in ham with cream cheese as appetizers and never got around to it)

    …No further comments.

Leave a Reply

