Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

True Confessions Tuesday

on November 10, 2015

My preferred mode of reading is to skip to the end of the book and then work my way back.

I’ve been forcing myself to read linearly and find it extremely difficult.

(Yes – I like spoilers for my movies, too).

Now you know.

Le Sigh.

Edited to Add – that’s not really a confession.

THIS IS A CONFESSION:   I can honestly say that on innumerable occasions I’ve wanted to shriek to my family, at the top of my lungs:  “No – I don’t care if you’re hungry.  Fix a bowl of cereal.  Eat some popcorn.  Just please leave me alone because I’m at a really good part and I’d rather not kill you.”  Extra shame:  I still get that way. 

4 responses to “True Confessions Tuesday

  1. hearthie says:

    I’ve been known to do that, but my preferred mode of reading is to read to the exclusion of all else – gorging on words – until I finish the book, “burp” loudly, and then reread it at a more civilized pace to enjoy.

  2. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    It’s not much of a confession but, I like sharing bear videos.

    You have to watch it to the end to see the rocket powered bears.

  3. Oh, Maeve, I so want to say the same thing sometimes. I’m like, “Didn’t I just feed you yesterday?”

    True confession: I look at clothes online a lot and fill my carts with things I want and then I click away without buying any of it. I guess that’s better for the budget, but an awful waste of time.

  4. Mrs. C says:

    Maeve, please say it isn’t so! It’s a crime to peek ahead in a book. This is the way to do it. Study the picture on the front cover if there is one, Read the back cover. Then read beginning to end. Seriously, I’m OCD about my books. I can’t bring myself to read out of order. It’s like cheating or something. LOL

    Let’s see, my confession. Ok, on Monday morning, just as I was about to take my 6 yr old to school, I cleaned the papers out of her backpack from Fri. (Really should do that before that last minute on Monday morning.) The teacher had a note in there that the kids could wear pj’s to school Monday and bring their slippers. They were having a reward day and watching a movie in the afternoon because they had been working hard on their grasslands project. My daughter was already dressed for school and there was no time to change or she would be late. I took her to school. She was crying and I was assuring her that I would run right home and bring her pj’s and slippers down. Such a bad mom moment…ugh. Well, I did run home and because I was dreadfully behind on my laundry, the only clean pj’s were some silky pj pants to maybe pair with a t shirt. Not weather appropriate for the day and really not something to wear in public if you have to wear your pj’s out. I grabbed my keys and ran to the store and bought new pj’s and matching slippers. Got in the car, ripped off the tags and hightailed it the few blocks to the school. The office called her down and I was able to change her in the nurses station. I think I redeemed myself in her eyes with the new owl pj’s and owl slippers. She was surprised to get new and was thrilled with them. As soon as I went home and chilled with a cup of coffee, I got to work on the laundry. No matter how organized you try to be, one little thing like failing to read a school note over the weekend, creates a domino effect of chaos. Crazy.

Leave a Reply

