Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

True Confessions Tuesday

on November 3, 2015

I thought we’d have a new feature here Chez Maeve, one I like to call “True Confessions”.

This is a time to open up about the things we do that are actually appalling to our own sensibilities (and maybe that of others).

“But Maevey, I’m hardly so gauche as to do anything which might offer offense to my delicate sensibilities,” you say.

Well, fine.Ā  It must be nice there on Mount Perfection.

I, however, live down here Humanville and have been known to offend myself on any number of occasions.

I’ll go first.

Yesterday evening I went to Walmart in my pajamas (they were respectable pajamas, but still).

Le Shame.

 

13 responses to “True Confessions Tuesday

  1. Elspeth says:

    I gotta say Madame Maeve, that is like rock bottom. Blending in at Wal-mart, LOL!

    Along those same lines, I am running about in the clothes I wore for my weight training workout this morning. What’s worse, is that there are far too many days of late when I do this, not get presentable until lunch time. I use the excuse that it doesn’t reeeallly matter until my husband is about to see me again, but it’s not like I don’t represent him when I am out and about.

    Le Shame.

    • Maeve says:

      Seriously, Els, I was completely terrified that I’d run into someone I knew. I had a hooded sweatshirt on and pulled it up and then just skulked through as unobtrusively as possible (which was kind of hard since i had on bright pink pajamas with doughnut on them).

  2. Mrs. C says:

    Love this idea……After telling myself I would only have a very small piece of the left over All Soul’s day cake after dinner tonight, I just caved and had a not-so-small piece after lunch today…..and I’ll probably still have desert tonight. There, I said it.

    • Mrs. C says:

      Oh… and lunch was at 10:50 am because I skipped breakfast and I was starving. Probably wouldn’t have caved had I eaten something decent this morning.

    • Elspeth says:

      Mrs. C, if not for a serious recent health concern that has forced me to deal with it, I probably could have written something similar.

      I think Maevey may be on to something. Confession being good for the soul and all….

  3. Maeve says:

    I think we all have moments where we don’t quite manage to live up to the (often unreasonable IMHO) expectations we set for ourselves – sort of like a reverse limbo, or a pole vault. It’s not that we’re doing terrible things, just things that make us kind of cringe internally (or, if in public, hoping to God that we don’t run into anyone we know). Or they’re things we find ourselves doing a little too frequently and it’s not really where we want to be.

    Sometimes we need to laugh a bit, shake it off, and play a bit of (as my mother would call it) “Can You Top This?” with kindly people who get the spirit of it. YKWIM?

  4. For me, that would be a brave and courageous act, Maeve. šŸ™‚

    I left frozen pizza for my family for dinner when I worked from 1-9 last Wednesday and tomorrow, it will probably be the same since I’m at work 1-9 again. I feel like a bad wife and mom. And I’m secretly relieved that I don’t have to cook which is where the shame comes in.

    • Maeve says:

      I know what you mean – i get the guilty too, but sometimes it’s just hard to gather up enough energy to actually cook the dinner, let alone actually be glad about it.

  5. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    I am so embarrassed. We bears take pride in drawing our own greeting cards. I tried to take a shortcut. Oops!

  6. hearthie says:

    I wore my painting/gardening skort (SHORT skort) to clean house the other day, which isn’t that bad. Deciding to hit the kid pickup line without changing wasn’t a good plan, because when we got back, inevitably someone was broken down in front of my house and I had to do my gracious hostess offer in my scrubbies.

    Also, I’ve been known to eat standing up in the kitchen. šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

