Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Having Cake and Eating It Too

on October 23, 2015

At some point it was brought to my attention (no, I can’t remember by whom or under what circumstances) that there are levels of Heaven.

I know – it’s surprising to me, too.  Here I thought that if you got there, you were, you know, THERE.

Not so.  If you are exceptionally awesome here on Earth then you get to Penthouse Heaven (no – not THAT penthouse (Sheesh!) – the super-swanky-high-rise-residence kind – the claret and foie gras kind).

It’s quite likely that, providing I make it (the jury’s still out I think), I’m going to end up in Basement Heaven.  This is actually rather OK with me because I’m pretty sure that that’s where plenty of interesting people who also managed to squeak past Hell are.  And since His Son rather made a point of hanging out with the fring-y sort, He probably comes to visit quite a bit as well.

Is this entirely too sacrilegious for a Friday?

Have I entirely lost all sense of acceptable boundaries?

Is this one of those posts you delete shortly after publishing and blame it on lack of sleep and not enough caffeine?

 


15 responses to “Having Cake and Eating It Too

  1. Elspeth says:

    I like it, frankly. For a whole host of reasons I wouldn’t DARE get into here. But don’t delete it because I’m putting it on my “Stuff I’ve Read Around the Web” link list.

  2. Elspeth says:

    I very well may be riding the ragged edge of disaster. I am just becoming acutely more aware of my own need for grace, the depth of my sinfulness, and the reality of how short I fall even when I am like really, truly, trying. I cannot even relate to those people who can envision themselves with works NOT burned up in the fire.

    So if I scarcely make it in (and there’s Biblical precedent for that being a reality for some of us), I’m completely okay with that.

    I do so love Jesus, Maeve. I don’t mean to sound sacrilegious. I’m just at a point where fakery (I know that’s not a word) doesn’t really fit with me anymore. Not that it ever did, but I had delusions of holiness that I no longer have.

  3. Mrs. C says:

    I’m ok with the basement too. Perhaps we will wash the white, white robes of those higher up in the ranks. LOL….but maybe heaven’s kitchen wouldn’t be too bad as we could help prepare the heavenly banquet? Anyway, your post reminded me of some quotes by St. Therese (The Little Flower) who is a Doctor of the Church, no less. When writing about her mother’s teachings, she says,

    “You knew all my intimate thoughts and cleared up all my doubts. I once told you how astonished I was that God does not give equal glory in heaven to all His chosen. I was afraid they were not at all equally happy. You made me bring Daddy’s tumbler and put it by the side of my thimble. You filled them both with water and asked me which was fuller. I told you they were both full to the brim and that it was impossible to put more water in them than they could hold. And so, Mother darling, you made me understand that in heaven God will give His chosen their fitting glory and that the last will have no reason to envy the first. By such means, you made me understand the most sublime mysteries and gave my soul its essential food. —St. Thérèse of Lisieux, The Story of a Soul. (New York: Double Day, 2001) 20.

    The other quote uses the variety of flowers as an analogy to the greater and lesser souls in heaven….

    “I had wondered for a long time why God had preferences and why all souls did not receive an equal amount of grace […] Jesus saw fit to enlighten me about this mystery. He set the book of nature before me and I saw that all the flowers He has created are lovely. The splendour of the rose and whiteness of the lily do not rob the little violet of its scent nor the daisy of its simple charm. I realised that if every tiny flower wanted to be a rose, spring would lose its loveliness and there would be no wild flowers to make the meadows gay. It is just the same in the world of souls — which is the garden of Jesus. He has created the great saints who are like the lilies and the roses, but He has also created much lesser saints and they must be content to be the daisies or the violets which rejoice His eyes whenever He glances down. Perfection consists in doing His will, in being that which He wants us to be.”

    • Maeve says:

      You now, Mrs. C, Sometimes I forget that He NEVER doesn’t give us what suits us best. He never forgets that we’re each a unique soul with unique needs and He meets them that way – not with a One-Size-Fits-All approach. I’m so glad you posted those quotes 🙂

      You know, that makes me thing of something else – where this idea of “greater” glory is not more a human perspective than a divine one. After all, to use the example of the flowers, they’re NOT the same, but does He not love them both completely?

  4. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    There is precedent for this line of thought. How about Dante’s Inferno? This is going to be tough to find a bear video to relate to this because bears are happy being on Earth.

    • Maeve says:

      No fair bringing Dante into the discussion, LOL!

      I think there’s a line to that effect in Gaudy Night by Sayers. Now I’ve got to find it or it will drive me bonkers.

      • fuzziewuzziebear says:

        I was just musing on the prospect of of being a servant in Heaven. If you’re assigned to make sandwiches, I’ll bet they they have very good mustard. 🙂

  5. Interesting. I think we will all have work in heaven and will be in love with Jesus that we won’t care what it is and with whom we are doing it. I can hardly wait.

  6. hearthie says:

    Just have to read your 1 Corinthians, about the Bema seat judgement… but I want to know why I’m getting this from Missler, from Pastor Mike, and from you on the same week… :p

    Honestly, I would find it deeply embarrassing if I were to be given as much honor in Heaven as someone who had been martyred for our faith, or who had lived a life honoring to God through great hardship. I will give way to them and clap in delight as they are decked out in jewels from head to foot, and would delight in spending some part of my eternity in preparing clothing and ornamentation for others. (I really hope I get to do that – wouldn’t that be the bomb, showing up at someone’s place with an outfit, saying, “here you go!”… a whole gift economy, where everyone becomes a fully realized artisan, with instructions straight from the Holy Spirit? Okay, fantasizing here, but hey.)

    FWIW it’s not OUR works that are judged, it is what the Holy Spirit is able to work through us – we know all our works of righteousness are as filthy rags.

    I don’t worry about it insofar as my reward is concerned, although I am desperately concerned that I live my life in a way that gets His approval. Will I use what I’ve been given properly? That can keep me up of nights, for sure.

    • Maeve says:

      You know, Hearth, the post had been rumbling around in me for a while but I could never quite hit the “publish” button. Then it just sort of happened and I was actually quite apprehensive afterwards; but now there’s a sort of relief that it’s out.

  7. […] Maeve had something to say here in regards to different rewards in Heaven.  I’ve been listening to Chuck Missler’s Q&A recently and he’s clearly been convicted on getting his “report card” ready for the Bema seat judgement.  And then my own pastor mentioned it… sort of as an aside, in a sermon on Acts 17.  Whenever I get the same message from several angles, I have to wonder what’s up.  (To be fair, my pastor might well listen to Missler, but I doubt that Maeve is.) […]

Leave a Reply

