Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Don’t You People Eat?

on July 8, 2015

Yes.  Yes, we eat.  But last week I burned my arm really badly Monday night and then the girls hightailed it off to their grandparents mid-week, so the menu business sort of went by the wayside.  Things are better this week.  My arm’s not bandaged any longer and our appetites have returned a bit.

I know the week’s nearly over, but did want to share a couple things we’ve made and enjoyed – which you might enjoy also.

Monday – Sautéed chicken  with salad and grilled crookneck squash

Tuesday – Tacos – um, these Crispy Beef, Cheddar and Pickle Tacos – make them as soon as possible; while you’re at it, head over to Wit & Vinegar and  make large batches of their Taco Seasoning mix – you’ll never buy the stuff again.  It’s worth noting that once you put pickles (and chopped onion – my addition) on your tacos, you don’t ever want anything else on them again.  That’s it – the beef, cheddar, finely chopped pickles and onions.  Nirvana!

Wednesday  – I’m not sure yet – might prevail on the people who live with me to come up with something.  Angharad makes this killer tomato soup that would be pretty perfect; I think we have all the ingredients, so that’s a definite possibility.

Thursday – Erm…not sure.  I’m thinking a final attempt at preparing a London Broil.  The last couple I’ve tried have come out slightly tougher than the sole of a boot, so not really feeling the excitement.  On the other hand, I have one in the freezer so might as well get it over and done with.  I came across this recipe which has some seriously good reviews, so maybe it won’t be so bad.  Note to self:  make sure there’s plenty of salad, just in case.

Friday – Dinner plans – YAY

But wait – I made this Cucumber Noodles with Peanut Sauce (from Two Peas and Their Pod – super tasty site; I go there pretty much every day!) like 4 times last week.  I know you’re thinking that peanut butter and cucumbers is just too weird of a combination, but let go of your hesitation and try it out.  The sauce is a lighter version of my  “Better Than Ed’s Sauce” and would be tasty on so  many things.  The first time I made it, I used one of my THREE (!!!!!) mandolins – long story, maybe I’ll post about it, but since then I’ve been using this great little julienne tool which is much easier to use and less hazardous on the fingers.  I have this one which came as part of a set with the best ever vegetable peeler you will every own.  Ever.  I bought a set for each of my girls so that they too will never have to be without.  That’s how much I love them.  My girls, I mean.

Well, that’s it.  So, anything tasty happening at your houses?

7 responses to “Don’t You People Eat?

  1. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Maeve,
    Of course we eat! Whatever did you think? More fruits salad, please.

    Please, more little posts to keep you current with search engines.

  2. Elspeth says:

    we’re having this tonight:

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/rachael-ray/brisket-bowls-recipe.html

    You never gave me your impression of the peach pie. Does that mean you weren’t impressed with it?

    • Maeve says:

      Els, I never even got to make it. But I’m hoping for this weekend. I bought everything – just need to get some more peaches this week.

      Actually, I hardly cooked anything last week – just the lamb chops and that salad with nectarines before I burned the daylights out of my arm. And then I just didn’t feel like cooking or eating.

      Those brisket bowls look amazing. I can see that happening this weekend too.

  3. hearthie says:

    Tonight we’re having smoked chicken w/rice noodles, peanut sauce, cauliflower … and cucumbers. Anyone who has ever eaten Thai food loves cukes with peanut sauce. I am bemused by the lack of fish sauce in that recipe. How can you have peanut sauce w/out fish sauce? I *hate* fish, and it’s not right without the fish sauce.

    Tomorrow we’re having smoked chicken salad w/kale salad and melon

    Yday we had hamburgers with the last of the weekend’s potato salad

    Trying to lighten it up a bit after indulging rather heavily over the weekend.

    Have I mentioned that the lemon chiffon cake was delish? 🙂 And that DH appreciated his tapioca pudding?

    I think I’ll get Boy to make up some of his deviled eggs this weekend, I could just about do with some deviled eggs. If not for the weekend, definitely for next week – they make great low-carb snacking.

  4. Heather says:

    You feature some really interesting recipes, Maeve. I would never have dreamed of putting pickles on tacos and now am tempted to try it.

  5. Mrs. C says:

    Thanks for the heads-up for the wit and vinegar taco seasoning mix. I tried it tonight for my taco salad meat and it was really good….better than the “just like taco bell” mix I was using. I made a big batch for my spice cabinet.

Leave a Reply

