Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Menu Madness

on June 28, 2015

I know there haven’t been any menu posts in a while.  I’ve been in something of a blue funk and have wanted to neither cook nor blog.  About anything.  Generally speaking, I’m not one who thinks you can just “pull yourself up by the bootstraps” out of everything, but it’s worth a try in this case as I can’t tell if the situation is self-induced or the result of other factors.  Regardless, a little positive effort never hurt.

As I mentioned earlier, meals and menu planning have been low voltage these days, but I did spend a little time yesterday thinking about grocery shopping and menu planning and then Angharad and I went out to a couple downtown shops to hunt for local produce (I was not up for all the rigmaroles of the local farmers’ markets – and there are tons of them) which yielded some great tomatoes, zucchini, and peaches.

Sunday – Pan-seared rosemary/garlic lamb chops; Nectarines with Arugula & Burrata Cheese (I’m going to make mine with fresh mozzarella because I’m too fatigued to hunt down Burrata – so it won’t be quite so delish – oh well…)

Monday – This absofreakinlutely delicious Lettuce Salad with Hot Beef Dressing.  I know it sounds weird, but trust me – it’s amazing and you’re going to want to make it every night of the week.  I used my very favorite Loriva Roasted Peanut Oil and also added some crushed red pepper flakes.  You definitely need the crunch of romaine, but this time I think I may also add some shredded cabbage.  Good Grief – I’m drooling all over the keyboard just thinking about it.  I also recommend doubling the recipe; the original might feed 2 – and I say “might” with some degree of measure – it would not feed only 2 of this family.

Tuesday – Pork tenderloin sliders with Jicama Slaw; roasted radishes and baby potatoes.  This slaw is killer and super easy to make.  I use a Memphis BBQ sauce which adds a really lovely sweet note to the whole thing.  I love using the pork tenderloins – which I COOK IN THE MICROWAVE, keeping them tender and juicy; then slice thin, pile on slider buns, drizzle with the BBQ sauce and top with the slaw.  Of course, you could grill your tenderloins – I probably would, too, it I wasn’t the one who had to grill them.

Wednesday – Sautéed Chicken Paillards with Caprese Tartines – just a fancy way of saying sauté thin sliced chicken breasts in olive oil; serve with open faced tomato-basil-mozzarella-drizzled-with-olive-oil on toasted French bread sandwiches.  Need I say more?

Thursday – Cold Pasta Salad of spaghetti, olive oil, red pepper flakes, garlic, tomatoes and brie.  Here’s how I make it.  Cook the pasta according to package directions in well-salted water; while the pasta cooks, I warm up some good olive oil; add the red pepper flakes, several cloves of sliced garlic and cook gently until the garlic is soft – and watch that it doesn’t brown.  Once the pasta cooks, I drain it and combine with the olive oil. Refrigerate until cold.  Then before serving, I tear some brie and add some chopped tomatoes.  Sometimes I need to add a little more olive oil – it’s a matter of taste.  Olives are a nice addition as well.  You can eat this hot and it’s excellent that way too.

Friday – It’s July 4th and I have plans.  My contribution – Strawberry & Peach Shortcakes (I know it’s actually the 3rd….).

So, that’s the plan for the week.  I’m actually looking forward to either cooking these meals myself, or relaxing while the minions conduct the preparations.  What’s cooking at your place?

13 responses to “Menu Madness

  1. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Do you mean sit down at a table, have it served on a plate, and use silverware? What an improvement!

  2. hearthie says:

    Tomorrow is Monday. Monday is leftovers day. This means fried rice in my house. Heavy on the meat fried rice.

    Tuesday is going to the grocery store day… I might look into some of those recipes, they sound the nom, and I have a feeling this weekend is going to be a meat-heavy weekend. Well. Uh. My house is always pretty meat-heavy, but I mean more so. 😉

    • hearthie says:

      Annnnddd… we didn’t get much farther, ’cause DH wants to go out on Wed, so I got things to make a nice chicken/broccoli stirfry today.

      Also, I am making your menus when next I have a girl-food-party. NOM.

  3. Elspeth says:

    Looks delish, Maeve! I have a shell of a menu but you’ve inspired me to tweak it. There was a recipe I wanted to share witj you though. In lieu of cake for her 21st b-day yesterday Bright Eyes askef for this:

    http://hostthetoast.com/maple-bourbon-brown-butter-peach-pie/

    Omg! You have to try it. You hear me? You have to try it,

    • Maeve says:

      OK Els – I’m completely sold, and I really don’t even like peach pie – actually, I don’t particularly like cooked peaches, but this looks too amazing to pass up. Heh – I even have a downright legitimate reason to get some bourbon!!!!

      You know, Southern Living has a recipe for a brown sugar peach pie that I made and that was tasty, too, so maybe my taste buds are maturing finally. But my all-time absolute favorite is Elizabeth & Phoebe’s Fresh Peach Pie, from Southern Living ages ago, and the fresh peaches are tossed with lemon juice and sugar and then heaped into a hard-sauce lined baked pie crust; top with whipped cream and it’s TO DIE FOR. (I eventually found a link for it, if you want to try – scroll down a ways and it’s there. Mind you, it’s summer, the peaches are fresh, so might have to make this one too, LOL

      http://community.cookinglight.com/archive/index.php/t-75635.html

      Meanwhile – I’m making that pie!

      • Elspeth says:

        The peach upside down cake on that page looks good, too.

      • Maeve says:

        I know it does! There are a ton of tasty recipes there, but I’m making your pie. Read over the recipe a couple times already and I have pie crust in the freezer (always much a double batch so I can freeze some for later). The peaches will never be better than they are now, so I don’t see me waiting to try it out.

      • fuzziewuzziebear says:

        Peach pie??? Peach upside down cake???
        We’re coming over!!!

  4. Great menu ideas–thank you!! There’s a lot of frozen food cooking at my place, lol.

  5. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Happy Fourth of July , Everyone!

  6. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Mauve,
    My search engine is having a hard time finding you. We need more posts. Maybe more bear videos.

Leave a Reply

