Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

How To Turn Your Healthy Fruit Tray Into Something Even Better

on May 26, 2015

image

You make this dip, that’s how.

I’m rather not fond of most fruit dips – they’re either too sweet, or gloopy; or they taste like the cream cheese or sour cream. Sometimes people put weird stuff in it, so most of the time I just end up passing on it.  Fruit dip should be a silky, sweet-with-a-bit-of tang affair.  It should complement the fruit, not compete with it.  Mostly, though, it should make you willing to come to blows for the last little dollop.

This one here is all of that – totally deeeevine, dahling.  Also you can be brain dead and make it.  It’s good on other things too (like muffins and graham crackers and nilla wafers).

  • 1 8oz pkg cream cheese AT ROOM TEMP (I’m not kidding about this, either)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar, firmly packed (I used light brown sugar)
  • 1 Tbsp. vanilla bean paste (see note below)
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream, whipped to soft peaks (see other note below)

Beat the cream cheese until it’s extremely smooth and creamy.  If you think you’ve beaten it enough, go back and beat it some more.  NO LUMPS.  Add the brown sugar and beat until it’s no longer grainy.  Add the vanilla bean paste and beat some more.  Scrape the bowl down often.  You don’t want lumps of anything and you can’t beat it once you add the whipped cream.  Fold in the whipped cream with a spatula.  That’s it.  You just make a little bit a heaven.

The afore-promised NOtes:

Note #1 – Vanilla Bean Paste.  I really paused before calling this out because I didn’t want to sound all snooty and like an ingredient-snob.  Truth is, though, unless you really don’t want the specks of vanilla bean, this stuff can’t be beat because it’s hugely cheaper than the beans themselves.  I bought a ginormous bottle of it on Amazon and it’s worth every penny.  Of course, you can buy it in reasonable quantities, but I’m not exactly reasonable in all things.  You do use it in the same quantity as extract, but you just won’t get the same look (no specks).

Note #2 – The whipped cream.  We didn’t whip the cream.  Instead we poured 1/2 cup of cream into a mason jar, screwed on a plastic lid (I buy these by the gross, too) and shook it for about 2 minutes.  I didn’t sweeten the cream. but you can add sugar and vanilla and shake it and get really excellent whipped cream.  We wanted very soft peaks, and this was an easy way to control.  Also if you have small children you can put them to work.  I saw this on Pinterest or FaceBook or something and have been dying to try it – turns out it works (which can’t be said for the notion that you’re not peeling your corn correctly – tried that and major FAIL).

So there you have it, a luscious, silky fruit dip – and you can jazz it up if you like – a little cinnamon (emphasis, little) would be lovely for a fall dip; even some almond extract would be nice.  Dark brown sugar would probably yield a more robust flavor, but I like it as is.

There’s a little left in the refrigerator, but it’s seconds are numbered.

19 responses to “How To Turn Your Healthy Fruit Tray Into Something Even Better

  1. Well, I know what I will be making as soon as I get my hands on some of that vanilla bean paste. It sounds wonderful!

    • Maeve says:

      It really was tasty and I put it together sort of last-second and had the presence of mind to write down what I was doing. Also, you truly can make it with vanilla extract (or vanilla bean), but yep – I’m kind of all in love with the paste. LOL

  2. hearthie says:

    As a True Californian, while this sounds good, putting anything on fruit always baffles me. Next you’re going to tell me you put some sort of dressing on fruit salad. 😉 Or sugar in your iced tea. 😀

    I mean, maybe the occasional indulgence of Strawberries Romanoff (which this sound like, TBH)… but that’s *dessert*, right? 😀

    -Hearthwhoisinacontrarymoodtoday-

    • Maeve says:

      LOL Hearthie – feel free to leave the fruit naked and spread it on some graham crackers or those Nabisco chocolate wafers (or a waffle). I usually don’t dress up my fruit, but the dip bowl looked weird all empty so I had to put something in it.

  3. Jenny says:

    I had no idea they sold something called vanilla bean paste.

    • Maeve says:

      I’m giving you fair warning Jenny – once you start using it, it’s really hard to go back to the extract (although I’m planning on making my own extract this summer).

  4. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    I don’t just want some, I WANT A LOT!

    This guy better not run out of biscuits.

  5. Elspeth says:

    I generally eat my fruit naked, but I have been known to make a parfait for breakfast: layer of fruit, layer of plain yogurt, layer of granola, repeat.

    The dip sounds divine, Maeve.

  6. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    You have been quiet. I’ll bet it’s warm where you are. Here’s something to make you feel a little cooler and marvel at human follishnes.

    Now, why would a crew of humans do something that silly?

  7. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    It’s been too quiet over her for too long.
    I can fix that.

  8. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Anoher cute video to torture you with.

  9. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    More cuteness.

  10. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Would you go to the store for me? It soesn’t work out well when I do.

  11. Elspeth says:

    Um…where’s the menu? Y’all been fasting the past couple of weeks or somethin’?

    • FuzzieWuzzie says:

      I think that all the orphaned pandas from the Taipei Zoo are over at Maeve,s house. It’s all they can do to keep up with formula. See video above.

Leave a Reply

