Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Having Some Thoughts…

on May 5, 2015

Always dangerous, I know, but this one isn’t so bad.

I’m thinking about hosting a virtual pot-luck meal.  No, I don’t have it completely thought out, but after Heather posted her eggplant parm link in my combox and Els linked to this insanely tasty looking dessert a couple weeks ago, and then I actually made the Cilantro Lime Chicken Thighs last night (still drooling), it occurred that maybe we could do a virtual sharefest.

Maybe once a month or quarter and rotate the categories so we can have an opportunity to share our families’ favorites.

I haven’t quite figured out the best way of making it happen – could list the categories, get folks to sign up, and then the participants can e-mail me the recipes and I’ll post them all on a set date – the 1st Sunday of the month perhaps?

I’m thinking of categories including, but not limited to:

  • Appetizer
  • Salad
  • Main Dish
  • Side dish
  • Dessert
  • Beverage

Watch me get all spun up and do Themed Potluck (Game Day Snacks; Fourth of July Picnic, etc.)

OK – gotta go to work.  Ping my combox if you’re interested, and if enough want to play, then I’ll get something started (or possibly we can even rotate hostessing?)

[Ed. I took out something like 800 “maybe”s.  This is what happens when one types on the fly, rather that taking a calm, deliberate, well-thought out approach.  Le Sigh.]


24 responses to “Having Some Thoughts…

  1. Mrs. C says:

    Sounds fun…I’m in.

  2. allamagoosa says:

    I don’t have many recipes right now, but I’m interested.

    • Maeve says:

      Hey Alla – nice to see you. Well, think about it this way – you’ll pick up a bunch of ideas to try out on the hubs 🙂

      You know, it’s all about sharing stuff your family loves (or even finding something new that you want to try). Everybody starts out small.

  3. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    I am a bachelor, so, I can’t contribute too much. We do like food that is so fresh that it never hit the store. At least, that is in our dietary favor.

    For dessert, berries and cream will always work. Even just berries will too. 😉

  4. pukeko60 says:

    Oh, the crew is here.
    Moving into winter here… and what is the rules for Memorial Day? Our equivelant consists of a dawn service, then whiskey. Both traditional, and both avoided by me.

    • Maeve says:

      LOL Chris – well, typically it’s a picnic or cookout or some such affair. Maybe folks attend a parade in honor of local veterans. When I was a girl, we were still in school until June and the Girl Scout & Boy Scout troops would march; maybe some of the athletic teams; local civic organizations; and HS bands would play. It was really nice. I think for most it sort of kicks off the summer season.

      We certainly won’t hold your upside down weather against you 🙂

    • hearthie says:

      Barbeque. You’re into charred bits of meat, right? 🙂

      • pukeko60 says:

        I am male. Yes.

        Though I tend to take meat and slow cook it in an oven. More control.

  5. hearthie says:

    I’m in. 🙂 Although I don’t really cook anything splendiferous for Mem day – I go easy peasy classic BBQ and make sure there’s plenty of food. Well. Classic recipes for old favorites – maybe y’all don’t know how to make sweet baked beans or basic potato salad?

    • Maeve says:

      I’ll tell you what I don’t know how to make – cole slaw – regular old cole slaw. True.

      • hearthie says:

        I only know how to make sweet coleslaw, and that’s vague. My husband doesn’t like it so I don’t make the sweet version – and I don’t like the tangy version so… yeah. No one makes coleslaw here. :p Sweet’s pretty easy, it’s buttermilk, some spices, and sugar.

  6. Elspeth says:

    Sounds like a lovely idea. Count me in!

  7. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Here’s another cute video that I stumbled over that I must link before it’s lost.

      • FuzzieWuzzie says:

        Hearthie,
        I’ve had to diversify. Puppies are cute too! They’re also much more manageable and you can let them in the house.

      • hearthie says:

        Oh, I want specifically a Berner or a Leo. 🙂 Giant FUZZY puppies. Hoping to get a Leo for the next dog. (They’re healthier than Berners, but rare). This may be much like getting a small bear, not sure. 😉

        -watches as her aging English Setter comes and puts his head on her knee-

      • FuzzieWuzzie says:

        More outrageous cute.

    • FuzzieWuzzie says:

      In the half world between awake and asleep, that video prompted me to realize that little twenty day old puppy was trying to teach its pet human to socialize by howling. Puppy was a much better howling student than its pet human.

  8. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Happy Mother’s Day! Here is one of my favorites.

  9. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, is everything all right? You have been too quiet.

  10. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    You’re missed. Here’s a classic bear video tcheer you up.

Leave a Reply

