Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

We’re Probably All Going to Starve

on May 4, 2015

Well, that might be a slight exaggeration.  Truthfully, other than a pot of chickpeas, I got nothin’.  Also, I don’t really care that there’s nothin’ (its the latter than has me most worried).  Of all the things with which one can be afflicted, apathy is one of the most disheartening precisely because you don’t even care that you’re completely disheartened.

Does that make sense?

This morning I woke with a profound case of don’t-give-a-crap-itis.  I pawned off the transportation of Iseult to her carpool onto her sister.  Then I thought about making coffee for an hour or so.  Then I debated the merits of showering over just lumbering into the office to face yet another day of gut-twisting work.  Somewhere in there I turned on the pot of beans.  They’re draining now, and I feel somewhat pressured to do something with them (so naturally, there’s a bit of antipathy towards them now).

The fact is that this week is going to suck big time – it’s MONTHLY STATUS REPORT season, which means I’d pretty much rather be struck down with typhoid than have to be at work.

Well, now that I’ve got this pity party well underway, is anyone else lurking in misery, or am I flying solo here?

Plus – is anyone cooking anything good?

17 responses to “We’re Probably All Going to Starve

  1. hearthie says:

    Finally this week I feel decent. But I’ll wave my pompoms at you and cheer if you like?

    Last night we had carne asada burritos
    Tonight we’re having chicken stirfry, with snow peas and carrots
    Tomorrow we’re going to have steaks and a nice salad.
    Wednesday we’ll go out.
    Thursday I’ll go to the store again.

    • Maeve says:

      Hearth – I can’t believe you’re still not completely recovered! You menu looks delish.

      • hearthie says:

        Ah, now I’m recovered. But it took a solid 7-8 days for each of us, more than 10 days from the first person’s first sniffle.

        Today I tried to kill myself off with crossfit and scrubbing. Because weirdly I wasn’t tired right after CF so I could scrub. So yay for that. And now, now will you hand me a fluffy pillow?

  2. Heather says:

    Aw, Maeve. I get into apathetic slumps at times, too. It can be especially frustrating when I know I ought to be cheerfully serving my family and instead get grumpy because several someones are hoping I’ll be inspired to cook something tasty for dinner…

    Feelings can be such a pain sometimes.

    It probably doesn’t qualify as “good” cooking, but I’ve got a nice pot of beef stock waiting to be transformed into soup, and beans soaking in anticipation of being added to a cauldron of chili. It’s nice to be able to cook in large enough quantities to have recycle-able leftovers. That means less need for culinary creativity that is nearly non-existent 🙂

    Hopefully, your week turns out to be surprisingly pleasant.

    • Maeve says:

      You’re a better woman than me, Heather. I’m pretty much done with cheerfully serving anyone for the week. But I may do it grumpily. Better yet, there are people who can rise to occasion and serve themselves and that’s actually a good idea because my girls are quite capable and I’m a little too Type-A Overachieving Mama for everyone’s own good.

  3. Heather says:

    Oh, and an Italian eggplant casserole is probably tonight’s dinner, as I bought the stuff over the weekend, when I was feeling inspired but didn’t actually have the time 😀

    • Maeve says:

      Share……that sounds good!

      • Heather says:

        It is pretty tasty. The ingredient list is pretty short and it’s simple to prepare. 😀

        I don’t actually consult a recipe, but this is similar to what I make

        http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/eggplant-parmesan/a55d1c1f-d386-4853-b7f3-da9e99534a48

        Additionally, I salt my eggplant immediately after slicing and let it sit for about 30 minutes before rinsing and patting the slices dry. It takes out the bitter taste.
        Then proceed to step 1 of the recipe.

        We add some ground meat to our sauce and have discovered that bread crumbs are nice, but not necessary.
        Instead of broiling the dish at step 4, I bake @ 350 for about 30 minutes (because I’d probably totally incinerate our meal if I tried to do it under the broiler)

  4. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    If I lived nearby, I coulld bring over pizza. Bear videos are the best I can do.

    Would it help if you could get into the mindset that allows you to post “Sunday Sillies”?

    • Maeve says:

      Yes – I have to get back into some of that. I just haven’t found anything that really pushed my silly button lately. Bear videos are always good.

  5. Mrs. C says:

    My menu planning is at least in my head this week but nothing written down.

    Tonight is chicken enchiladas, tossed salad and Spanish rice. Tomorrow will be leftovers. I’m thinking Thursday will be something quick like a simple ham and potato soup. I already have the ham diced in the freezer.

    Friday will be a meat-free pasta dish of some kind with enough leftovers for Saturday.

    Mother’s Day will be whatever hubby and the girls decide to make me. I’m not going to be picky when I have the chance to be cooked for and someone else to do the clean up for the day.

    I’ve had weeks also where I don’t feel like putting the time into cooking because I needed to focus on other things. Those are the weeks we order out a couple times or spaghetti with sauce from a jar appears and maybe scrambled eggs and toast. Don’t sweat it. In the big scheme of things, it doesn’t matter.

    • Maeve says:

      Mrs. C, a couple weeks ago I made this spaghetti with olive oil and lemon and garlic and oven-dried tomatoes and leeks (I think) and it was so delish – oh yes – cremini mushrooms and some arugula I think. So good. Put myself in a carb-coma.

      • Mrs. C says:

        Maeve, that sounds really good. Esp. the olive oil, lemon, garlic combo. I have some tomatoes and broccoli that I could roast and toss in. Thanks for the idea for my Friday meal!

      • Maeve says:

        The tomatoes were killer – here’s what I did (ripping off Nigella Lawson)… I halved (lengthwise) about a dozen roma tomatoes and pulled out the seeds; laid them cut-side up on a rimmed baking sheet (and because I don’t like scrubbing baking sheets, I lined mine with Reynold’s Grill foil, which I buy by the case from Amazon); I drizzled them with really good olive oil, some kosher salt and dried thyme (say, a teaspoon); then I roasted them at 275 degrees for about 2.5 hours. Holy Toledo they were amazing – either warm or cold (they keep great in the fridge and the seasoned oil is amazing. I’m keeping them on had all the time now, because they make even crappy winter tomatoes taste delish)

  6. I hope your blahs are a bit better today. I’m having a hard time facing the kitchen because we are overrun with ants at the moment so every time I put anything down, I have to swat ants away. Yuk!

    I made a boring chicken dish yesterday for when I was at work and have nothing for tomorrow night when I will also be at work. I have to do something with pork tonight. I’m feeling kind of blah about cooking right now, too. I could use some inspiration for easy, not too expensive meals that don’t have beans (dh refuses to beans of any kind in any way. Sigh).

    I did make a killer crabmeat quiche last weekend. 🙂

    • Maeve says:

      What kind of pork? Chops? You could treat them like the chicken thighs in the Cilantro Lime Chicken Thighs I made (link in last post); I did double the spice mixture and used 3 limes and like 8 cloves of garlic and it was AMAZING. I bet it would make pork fantastic – even a boneless loin. You know, braising is one of my fav techniques – you can coax so much flavor out of practically anything. Fix some rice or faro or wheatberries and insta-dinner!

      Jealous about the crabmeat quiche.

Leave a Reply

