Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

This Week’s Kitchen Follies

on April 27, 2015

Black Eyed Peas – that’s the Bean du Week.  It’s also the bean that got me started on my conversion from bean-o-phobe to “hmmm….there are a half dozen or so that I’ll eat”.  Progress, people, progress. Here’s the week’s lineup:

  • Monday – Maeve’s Super Scrumptious Sort of Mexican Crockpot Chicken; BEPs; spinach (probably served in tortillas)
  • Tuesday – Well the girls are headed to their Dad’s, so I’m headed out for dinner with my GFs
  • Wednesday – Grilled Skirt Steak; BEP Salad with Baby Greens; grilled zucchini
  • Thursday – Grilled ham steak; Hoppin John (I prepare the beans separately and spoon over the rice – I know that makes me something of a heretic, but hey, I AM a born Yankee); greens of some kind
  • Friday – Black Eyed Pea Fritters (if there’s any beans from the Hoppin John left over); Cilantro Lime Chicken Thighs; leftover rice; roasted cauliflower

If you’re looking for some new things to do with BEPs, this site has some great ideas (and some are unusual, like BEPs on toast with caramelized leeks – I’m sooooo going to try that one.)

That’s pretty much the plan, subject to change as always.  What’s cookin’ at your place?

Little aside here, if you’re on FB and don’t follow The Drunken Spatula or Food52, DO SO NOW. 

[Update – fixed the link for the chicken recipe – thanks Taylor 🙂    )


10 responses to “This Week’s Kitchen Follies

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    Why domn’t you join us on your day off? We’ll be fishing and having a party!

  2. hearthie says:

    Eventually I’ll make Spaghetti Carbonara this week… darn cold.

  3. Elspeth says:

    Sunday: Herb roasted leg of lamb with potatoes, braised collards
    Monday- Chikpeas and kale sautee, brwon rice
    Tuesday- Spaghetti and meatballs
    Wednesday- Gyros using left over lamb meat
    Thursday- TBD
    Friday- Going out for dinner before we take my comic book guy husband and kids out to see Avengers.

    Yeah, we’re gonna go see that, despite how gauche I appear for admitting so.

    Oh, we had these for Sunday dessert:

    http://us6.campaign-archive1.com/?u=f4c6cae10fbad4ad122b38097&id=3607c85ede&e=36a12f8bd6

    They were really good. Lucky we only made one 8×8 inch pan. NO leftovers to ruin the diet.

  4. Maeve says:

    @Elspeth – Hey – I want to see The Avengers, too. In fact this weekend BOTH Thor movies were shown Chez Maeve et Filles. We looooooooove Superheroes 🙂

    That dessert looks so scrumptious I practically short-circuited my keyboard with the drool.

    @Hearth – hope you feel better soon, Sweetie. Don’t you have a big pot of chicken soup on the stove?

  5. ttb2 says:

    Pssst, the cilantro lime chicken link is wrong. AND I WANT TO MAKE THE CILANTRO LIME chicken.

  6. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Fun bear video. I stumbled across it and wanted to share before I forgot how I found it.

  7. Mrs. C says:

    A little late…

    Monday-Pan Fried Cod, Mac n Cheese, Steamed Broccoli
    Tues-Roasted Chicken Thighs, Green Beans, Broccoli Salad
    Wed-leftovers
    Thur-Meatloaf, Mashed Potatoes, Gravy, Cole Slaw
    Friday-Tuna Noodle Casserole, Tossed Salad
    Sat-Spaghetti and Meatballs, Tossed Salad
    Sun-leftovers

Leave a Reply

