Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Yes – There Will Be Cooking Again This Week Chez Maeve

on April 20, 2015

Ok OK – I know I’m dink here.  Busy weekend – yard sale, cleaning out the garage – three runs to thrift store with donations and a ton to the recycling and trash center.  I was exhausted yesterday and didn’t make a menu – which made shopping a challenge.

Last week’s experiment of making a huge pot of beans and planning menus around it was excellent.  They came out fantastic and everyone loved them.  I’m going to do the same thing this week, but instead of black beans, I’m soaking navy beans right now and plan to use them in a couple ways.  I like how having the beans as the “anchor ingredient” is making me think about my menus.  For one thing, it takes a huge burden off me – I have something around which to build everything else.  They re-heat easily and also can be incorporated into all kinds of dishes.  The soaking/cooking requires no effort on my part and that’s a huge gift from me to me.

So, here’s the tentative plan for the week:

  • Monday – Grilled Pork Tenderloin with Braised White Beans (from Sarah Leah Chase’s “Cold Weather Cooking”) and asparagus
  • Tuesday – Grilled Chicken with White Bean Mash (courtesy of Nigella Express); spinach salad
  • Wednesday – Chili (with white beans)
  • Thursday – dinner out with friends; daughters at Dad’s
  • Friday – leftovers (because there will be lots of leftovers)

I’m very excited about making the Braised White Beans – the recipe includes leek, carrot, celery, garlic, prosciutto, sage and the white beans; the veggies are sautéed then the prosciutto is added; the veggie mixture is combined with the beans, some soaking liquid, tomato paste, parsley and sage and a  little more olive oil; then baked for about 30  minutes.  Now, I bought pancetta by mistake, so I’ll use that, but no matter – I’m drooling at the mere prospect of the deliciousness.

Anyway, that’s what’s going on in my kitchen.  What’s happening this week in yours?


8 responses to “Yes – There Will Be Cooking Again This Week Chez Maeve

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Beans??? Bears???? Bears sleep in enclosed spaces. This could be dangerous. This may not end well.

  2. hearthie says:

    I’m being lazy. Burritos for dinner tonight and homemade spaghetti sauce w/garlic bread and salad tomorrow. Out on Wednesday, and shop again on Thurs.

  3. Elspeth says:

    Sunday- Fried chicken, kale sauteed with canellini beans, corn muffins
    Monday- Pasta with veggies, homemade garlic bread
    Tuesday- Beef and spinach pie

    All I got for now…

  4. Maeve says:

    I just want to share that the Braised White Beans were TO DIE FOR and I’m going to have to post the recipe. My beans we just a “tad” underdone – but nobody complained and they were gobbled down like crazy.

    ALSO – I made black rice and I’m never going to want to eat any other kind again. Picked up a package at TJ’s this weekend. Just so aromatic and flavorful. I could have eaten the entire pot. Don’t worry – I didn’t. I skipped the asparagus, so will probably fix t tonight.

    Fair warning – I’m probably going to wax poetic about the rice again (and again) – just ignore me.

  5. hearthie says:

    Did you like the black rice that much? I didn’t think it was much different in flavor from wild rice, so while it was pleasant, I won’t be bothered to get it (no one else liked it that much, but they don’t like wild rice that much either).

    I’m missing some risotto now….

  6. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Happy bears staying away from beans.

Leave a Reply

