Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

What’s Cookin’ This Week?

on March 30, 2015

It’s the week before Easter and the menu isn’t planned yet.  I still don’t know who will be here.  Just some fun-filled pre-holiday chaos Chez Maeve et Filles.  I’m really not worried because by tomorrow night I’ll have everything planned out, right down to the preparation schedule.

This week’s a little sketchy on the menu front also – but here’s the lineup so far (subject to change):

  • Monday – Pork Schnitzel with Egg Noodles, Roasted Green Beans and Chunky Tomato Sauce
  • Tuesday – Steak Tacos (Grilled marinated skirt steak, Citrus Slaw, pepper jack cheese )
  • Wednesday – deconstructed Chicken Florentine, Rice, (sounds chichi, but really it’s just that I cook the spinach separately)
  • Thursday – Grilled Salmon Caesar Salad (possibly)
  • Friday – Well it’s Good Friday and I’m just not sure yet – Maybe Cuban Black Beans & Rice

I’ll have a post later on about Easter Menus and welcome anyone to share some of their favorites.

In the meantime, what’s cookin’ at your place?

11 responses to “What’s Cookin’ This Week?

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    I am SOOOOOO hungry! I am writhing this as dinner cooks in the oven. This sis so hard on me.

  2. Elspeth says:

    Sunday- Hubs put a whole roaster on the smoker. It was so good. Served with collards and buttermilk corn muffins.

    Meatless Monday- Bow tie pasta tossed with tomatoes, garlic, green peppers, and kale.

    Tuesday- Hamburger steak with mushroom gravy, biscuits, asparagus

    Wednesday- pan seared salmon with avocado salsa, salad, french bread

    Thursday- Chicken and rice

    Friday- Sandwiches yet to be determined before rushing off to Good Friday service

    Saturday- Out with brother and his family

    Resurrection Day Dinner- Marinated London broil, twice baked potatoes, salad, lemon pound cake

  3. ttb2 says:

    Maeve, I am curious about your citrus slaw?

    Wednesday – Sushi (out)
    Thursday – Mahi w/ Pineapple Salsa, Grilled Zucchini
    Friday – Cilantro Lime Chicken w/ Avocado Salsa, Roasted Asparagus
    Saturday – Chicken Stir Fry with Snow Peas, Mushrooms, Onions, and Broccoli
    Sunday – At my in-laws (no clue)

    We are currently doing a low to no processed carb diet, with green juices during the day, leading up to a juice cleanse next week. Aieee!

    • Maeve says:

      Hi Taylor! OK – I’m actually going to do a post in the near future about the shrimp tacos, but here’s the slaw recipe – and its terribly easy and yum:

      1 bag angel hair colesslaw (or you can finely slice half a decent size head of cabbage (I’m too lazy for that)
      1 super-thinly sliced sweet onion (I used the mandolin mostly)
      1 super-thinly sliced red bell pepper (into strips – again, I often use the mandolin)
      Combine the veggies in a large bowl
      Add @ 3Tbsp. fresh lime juice – I sometimes add more because I like mine on the tart side
      Add @ 3Tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil
      Toss it all together
      Sprinkle on some kosher salt and cracked black pepper
      Keep tossing
      As it sits, the acid from the lime juice breaks everything down.
      Keep it chilled. I don’t make it too far ahead – so, basically I make the slaw and then refrigerate it while I prepare the rest of dinner.
      Very delish.
      If you make it, let me know what you think.

  4. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    There was a discusion elsewhere that ended in congratulations. So, Iwent to youtube and ran a search for “bear toast”. Look at whqt came back! I had to share this.

    While your kids may be too , I know that you will appreciate this, Maeve.

  5. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Completely off topic and silly.

  6. hearthie says:

    Eek, missed a post… :/

    Friday, which was Passover, we had lamb and dolmas and hummus and tzatziki sauce and cauliflower with cheese and veggie chips, because the health food store didn’t have matzoh.

    Saturday we had a beef roast w/chimmichurri sauce with italian fryup

    Today we’re going to my mom’s house and having ham with potato salad and all the fixin’s.

    Tomorrow? I have a feeling fried rice might be on the menu 🙂

  7. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    You are missed. You have to watch this to the end. The groan of disappointment from the bear when he has finished all the cherries is classic.

Leave a Reply

