Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

What’s Cooking Chez Maeve

on March 23, 2015

My blog-pal Elspeth used to post a weekly “What’s Cookin’?” feature which I looked forward to every single Monday.  Actually, that was sort of the reason I got up on Mondays (not work, I assure you).  Sadly, she’s not blogging anymore and I’ve been wrestling with the idea of hosting such a weekly feature myself.  Maybe I’ll be inspired.  Maybe I’ll plan a menu.  Maybe I’ll care about cooking again.

Le Sigh.

There’s not a lot to post, but here goes…

Monday – My variation on this Barley Stew with Leeks, Mushrooms and Greens

Tuesday – Tuscan Chicken Thighs (hopefully on the Grill) with Roasted Cauliflower & Chickpeas;

Wednesday – Sirloin, Roasted Baby Potatoes & Broccoli (I might roast gnocchi – we love that stuff)

I’m thinking about reorganizing my kitchen. Would it be more effective to cluster kitchenware by frequency of use rather than by type?  I’m sort of plagued by indecision regarding the functionality of the kitchen – actually it’s a lack of functionality.  Space is at a premium and I don’t use it well.  The counters get cluttered and then I get flustered and find I don’t feel much like cleaning up the kitchen so I can cook dinner.  I need a handy place for frequently-used cookbooks so I’m not hunting for them.   Must think on this some more.

So, what are y’all cooking this week?


13 responses to “What’s Cooking Chez Maeve

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    Everything you mentioned sounds wonderful.
    Need help in the kitchen?

  2. Elspeth says:

    I cooked this on Sunday:

    It is really good. Served with roasted potatoes and rolls.

    Yesterday I fried up some steak with wild rice and sauteed Kale

    Tonight we’re doing spaghetti bolognese with Caesar salad.

    Wednesday we’re having baked gnocchi with chicken

    Still working out Thursday and Friday.

    If you pick up the What’s Cooking mantle, I’ll be right here to post my menu in your combox, LOL.

    • Maeve says:

      YAY!!!! Now I’m motivated to take it up.

      That chicken looks so delish – and I really want to hear about the gnocchi – we love the stuff. Do you make your own or buy it? For the record – I buy the gnocchi.

      • Elspeth says:

        I buy the gnocchi, Maeve. I always say I’m going to make it, and then don’t. 😦

      • Maeve says:

        I keep thinking about making it, too, but then the thought occurs that maybe its one of those things better purchase and one’s effort spent on the sauce. If you do make it though, please share – I might try it too.

  3. Bike Bubba says:

    Maeve, look up “5S” for your kitchen. It actually turns out that the first famous woman in my profession, Lillian Gilbreth (the mother in “Cheaper by the Dozen” and real life widow of motion expert Frank Gilbreth), made her first impact by redesigning kitchens for womens’ magazines. You can get hints of this in the 1950 (NOT THE 2003) CBTD and the 1952 “Belles on their Toes.” The books are even better. (skip “Rings around us”, though….the brother was the far better writer)

    More or less, here’s what you want to do:

    Sort: get everything you don’t use often off the counter and into storage. It’ll be easier to find there when you need it instead of on your counter.

    Straighten: get everything you do use often within arm’s reach. I’ve seen pictures where machinists can grab their tools without looking.

    Standardize: if you have two tools that will do about the same thing, choose one.

    Shine: make sure it gets clean

    Sustain–this is the hard part. It means that when you bring out the reverse polish carrot ricer for that special recipe, you get it back in the closet, and the like.

    It is amazing what you can do with a cleaned up kitchen, BTW.

  4. hearthie says:

    I think I have the smallest kitchen of any of you, and I can only reach the first two shelves of my cabinets without tiptoeing/using tongs/calling the boy… I keep what I use most on those shelves, and things I don’t use go up higher- or out to the garage, where I keep odd item storage. I am the queen of “the pantry is in the patio, I keep the big kitchen gear in the garage, and the china cabinet is in the dining room”. :p You do what you do, you know?

    DH asked for lighter meals this week… so:

    Monday we had pork stirfry, with asparagus & celery & onions over white rice

    Tuesday we had rice noodles with chicken, cauliflower, raw carrots, scallions & cucumbers with Thai peanut sauce (messy but worth it – I make more than one batch and freeze – freezes beautifully).

    Tonight is date night, don’t know where we will go, I’m really hungry right now…

    Thursday we are having marinated beef (I’m going to go for a black bean/soy marinade) over rice with watercress and a side of broccoli.

    • Maeve says:

      LOL – I can only reach the bottom 2 shelves of mine also.

      I love peanut sauce, too and I make a good size batch of it (of course there’s never enough for me to freeze because some people – me – can’t stop eating spoonfuls of it on everything).

      • Elspeth says:

        Had a woman in the grocery store stop me yesterday and have me help her reach something on a high shelf, LOL. Reaching things in my kitchen is not a problem for me except for one set of cabinets above the microwave.

        I did find that removing appliances that I don’t regularly use from the counter tops opened the door to a whole new kitchen. That, and disposing of any Rubbermaid or Tupperware containers and pieces for which there was no bottom or no lids.

        Funny how that happens.

      • hearthie says:

        The boy’s new job is “get that for Mama”. 🙂

      • Maeve says:

        Els – that plastic ware thing is a massive pet peeve of mine! This weekend, so help me, if there are no mates, the items are toast!

  5. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    A talking bear video!

Leave a Reply

