Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Long Time…No See

on February 21, 2015

It’s been a few weeks.

Every now and again its good to give yourself a time-out. It’s good to step back a bit and try to look at life a little dispassionately (actually quite a challenge if you are me).

I used this opportunity to go shopping – quite a bit in fact. I had already gone through my closet and boxed up all the stuff that didn’t fit, but this was only the beginning. My delightful friend, Hearthie, gave me a good fashion scolding and some excellent advice – which I’ve embraced with a vengeance. The upshot – I’ve purged my wardrobe of every unflattering, dowdy, frumpy, ill-fitting, boring, uninspired, insipid, loose, baggy piece of clothing I owned. Whew! Oh yeah – I learned my lesson about shoes too – bought a pair strictly for comfort and ended up with a blistered heel. So, we’re not going there again.

In other news, we bought a really cheap waffle iron so we could cook tater tots and cinnamon rolls in it.  Maybe we’ll make waffles at some point.

I am simultaneously reading Tosca Lee’s superb “Demon, A Memoir” as well as “Paradise Lost” (because reading the two together just appeals to my need to examine things from every angle) and waiting feverishly for Patricia Briggs’ new release in a couple weeks (she has Chapter 1 up on her website – yes, I tortured myself and read it).

OK – that’s it.  I have take Iseult driving… then I’ll probably need a drink or a manicure.

13 responses to “Long Time…No See

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    I was starting to get worried. What would I do without my bigggest bear video fan? Glad to see back.

    You have to watch this one to the end. rocket powered bears!

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    More bear cuteness for you! I’m running behind.

  3. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    I really missed you! Here’s another. This one is a very lame news story fro Cleveland.

  4. Mrs. C says:

    Hi Maeve, so glad to see you back from your winter hibernation!

  5. Elspeth says:

    *Waves to Maeve*

    Good to see you, girl!

  6. Bike Bubba says:

    Glad to see you got the waffle iron–enjoy! And you’ll never regret getting control of your wardrobe–I’ve been blessed to use “lean” periods in my life to do the same. Mix of wearing cheap stuff out and giving a fair amount of clothes to Goodwill.

    And here’s a Bear video from a while back.

  7. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Update on cute orphan bear cub.

  8. Maeve says:

    Hi everyone – I can’t quite seem to come out of hibernation. This might not be a bad thing, really, as the grump-fest continues. TG for Fuzzie’s bear cub videos!

  9. I just did some similar organization a couple of weeks ago. This is also the time that the closet fairies do away with a lot of my husband’s crazy-old clothing. I swear, the man would wear the same clothes the rest of his life if I let him!

Leave a Reply

