Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Just Go With The Flow

on January 14, 2015

My Christmas tree is still up.

That’s right – my Christmas tree is still up.  All the stuff is still on it.  Also the stockings are still hanging on the mantle.

I know what you’re thinking – “Is she planning to just leave it all up until Valentine’s Day?”  Well, maybe not that long.  I don’t like taking down the tree.  It’s anticlimactic.  There’s no special “taking down the tree movie”; no special ritual; no cookie (not that I’m baking at the moment).  It’s just a January blah.

In past years this would have bothered me.  It’s half way through January and the tree is still up.  But I’m not letting it get to me.  I did finally take the wreath off the door.  The outside lights are down (mostly).  It will get done.

So what have I been doing if not taking down my Christmas stuff?  Well, I organized the pantry; cleaned out my closet and dresser; am half way through a reorganization of my office.  These things are far more important from daily living stand point than the tree (well other than pretty soon it’ll be a fire hazard).

Also (and this is a big deal for me) I got a Confederate Rose.  It’s not in the ground yet (as we’ve been experiencing some global warming, ummm, arctic blasts, lately).  But I’ve wanted one FOREVER  and now I have one.  I can’t wait to get it in the ground.  We’re going to plant it right next to where we buried our Lilly.  I know she’d have loved it.

So what’s next?  Well, yes, I’m going to deal with the tree (probably this week) and, weather permitting, plant my new shrub.  But if things come up and it all gets pushed out, well, OK.  None of this is life or death.  I’m going to try and keep that perspective.

9 responses to “Just Go With The Flow

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    Better see to the tree. Don’t want this to happen.

  2. mrsktc says:

    My Christmas tree is still up too. I took the ornaments off, set them aside but my 5 yr old found them and put most of them back on. Ha!

    • Maeve says:

      That’s hysterical! Here’s my little confession: I bought these really cute, completely un-Christmas-like ornaments at Pier One – a squirrel, hedgehog and raccoon. They spoke to me just like in the commercials – I swear, I could hear the whispering “buy us, bring us home”. Anyhoo…they’re so darn cute I’ve been trying to figure our how I can come up with a viable reason to not put them away, but rather use elsewhere. After all, I have gargoyles looking down over my living room; what’s wrong with a couple of woodland friends.

      Yep – I think I’ve gone over the deep end, too! LOL

  3. Mrs. C says:

    Maeve, you’re not alone. Mine is still up too. I intended to take it down last week after we got together with friends at our house for an epiphany celebration. They ended up asking to postpone til Friday after Epiphany so I left it up. They cancelled again because their Grandma went into the hospital and I have now gotten a whopper of a head cold and a cough that keeps me up most of the night so the tree still stands. Oh well, maybe next week. At least you’re getting other things done. My family is lucky right now to get meals from the freezer and their laundry done. Everything else is on hold. I’m hoping February will be more productive for me because January certainly is not so far.

    • Maeve says:

      I rather enjoy our little trio here of “ladies who can’t seem to get the tree down”.

      I hope you’re on the way to recovery soon. At least with kids back in school, you can maybe catch a few hours of rest during the day?

      (you know, if we were neighbors, I’d happily be bringing dinner over to you! 🙂 )

  4. Mrs. C says:

    I was glad to see I had company too in the “tree is still up dept.”…..and good company at that.

    Yes, I am resting a bit while they are in school but I can’t seem to sleep for more than an hour or two without waking up and coughing uncontrollably. It’s been years and years since I’ve had a cold this bad. Usually it’s just mild and I can press on with life. This one has me down but hopefully a few more days and I will be feeling better.

    I wish we were neighbors because I KNOW whatever you bring would be scrumptious! The family is getting spaghetti with sauce from a jar tonight….after I take care of the breakfast dishes which are still in the sink…sigh.

    • Maeve says:

      Mrs. C., according to The Kitchn (today) you should be swigging down some raw, organic unfiltered apple cider vinegar. I think it sounds disgusting, but maybe it might work? And if you do try it and it makes things worse, well, you didn’t hear anything from me. Just sayin’.

      • Mrs. C says:

        LOL! That sounds revolting to me right now but I might get desperate enough to try it soon. I did make myself a good chicken soup yesterday with homemade bone broth and lots of garlic in the hopes that it would clear out the congestion. Tonight, a nice steaming mug of peppermint tea before bed sounds good. I’ve been avoiding medicine so far but it’s getting to the point where I’m thinking about sending dh for some Nyquil. What I really need is a good night’s sleep…..

Leave a Reply

