Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

It’s 2015 and I’m Grateful

on January 5, 2015

A couple weeks before Christmas that word – gratitude – kept showing up everywhere on my radar.  Everywhere.  I’m a little thick in the head sometimes, but not so thick that I can’t realize when I’m being pinged. I’ve been thinking a lot about gratitude; specifically what does it mean to live a life of gratitude?  What does that look like in practice?  It’s fine and dandy to talk about being all grateful for our blessings (blah, blah blah…..), but how does that translate into an actual, conscious awareness and execution?

I’m still not entirely sure, but that’s my thing for the year. I’m going, to the best of my ability, figure out what it means to live a life of gratitude and do it.

One thing that has become clear  is that there needs to be a measure of deliberation, of purpose, in one’s conduct.  I have spent the last four years largely functioning by the seat of my pants.  It makes for a chaotic life and state of mind.  My time away from (most) things internet helped tremendously – in a lot of ways (I’ll get into them later), but one thing in particular that stood out was that after more than a year playing with my blog, I still didn’t have any sort of focus.  That’s changing a bit now – and this is a good thing in my estimation.

Just so no one gets their knickers in a twist, I haven’t gone all super-broody-and-introspective-and-dour-and-humorless.  Quite the contrary.  And here’s why – gratitude lightens the heart, as does having a sense of purpose.  I no longer feel like I’m just bobbing along in the water, completely at the mercy of the waves and current, powerless to act.  It’s a dark and sometimes frightening way to live – and that needs to change.

So, here’s a little something for which I’m profoundly grateful – the very lovely people I’ve met over the past year online.  Actually, it’s been life-changing in the best possible way.

Salt mines calling.

Happy New Year to all.

10 responses to “It’s 2015 and I’m Grateful

  1. Heather says:

    This is a wonderful little post!

    The Lord really shook me up when He began directing my attention to several places in scripture which indicate that our gratitude (or lack of) is a huge deal, from His perspective.
    IMO, you’ve been blessed with critical insight into the type of attitude that truly pleases Him.

    The orange ricotta cookies were delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    May the Lord bless you as you pursue a more intimate relationship with Him throughout the year!

    • Maeve says:

      Thanks Heather 🙂

      It’s been a really interesting month (in my head at least LOL). Things kept rambling around – “I have a wonderful family” great – how am I showing that? Am I taking care of my relationships. I’m fortunate to have good health. Great. So why is it I absolutely refuse to actively engage in taking care of myself? (going to the doctor’s office turns me from a relatively affable person into a hostile and aggressive wretch – NO LIE – that’s insane. I need to get over it and take care of myself). These were some of the things that kept rolling around.

      I thought about all the “resolutions” I’ve made in the past and then it came to me that actions follow attitude. The biggest thing one can do for oneself is to embark on a healthy change in attitude. I’m hoping that my little space here will be a place for me to grow as well.

  2. Jenny says:

    What a great word for 2015.
    give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. 1 Thessalonians 5:18
    Giving thanks is the path to joy. You must need some joy, Maeve. I will pray for joy for you. It will be a joyful year.

    • Maeve says:

      Thanks Jenny. Joy is a wonderful state and I can’t help but think it stems from appreciation. And here’s the thing – do we show (live) appreciation or talk appreciation?

      One of my friends, was telling me about how grateful she was that her parents emigrated to this country and that she could openly observe her faith without fear of imprisonment. And there it was again – GRATITUDE. 🙂

      • Jenny says:

        both show and talk. let it pour out of us. let it fight our battles against depression and stress. let it remind us that God has conquered all, loves us deeply, and gives us hope in the middle of the mess. When we show gratitude, our focus shifts to Him. We are taken to a higher road, our eyes are lifted up towards beauty. We are living in Him.

  3. Elspeth says:

    Love this Maeve. Very good and encouraging thoughts.

  4. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    You were missed! Here’s something a little different.

  5. hearthie says:

    What a beautiful post!

  6. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Just found this and had to share,

Leave a Reply

