Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

So, What’s Going On?

on December 16, 2014

Well, it’s been a very busy time here Chez Maeve et Filles.

First off, we put up the Christmas tree – with help.  Lots of help.  Once again, I found myself buying more tree than I can comfortably manage on my own.  And that’s largely because I wanted something bigger than 3 feet.  Nearly decapitated it on the ceiling fan. Then we discovered that our “classic” lights (you know, the big bulbs that get really hot and threaten to burn down your house?) had many dead bulbs and fuses.  We were unable to replace them.  This meant that I had to buy new lights. And now all you can buy are LED lights.  I complained a lot about that because it feels government-intrusive-y (and I’m going to stop now because this is not a rant about my issues with light bulbs).

Anyway, I bought them.  Eight strands of them and we put them on the tree.  So now it’s just waiting for us to decorate and we’ll do that once Iseult’s exams are over.

On le baking front, I’m making Peppermint Meltaways with Peppermint Cream Cheese Frosting as my next Advent cookie.  Yes, I’ll get it posted once I’ve got them made.  The Frosted Toffee Cookies are after that.  Le Yum!

I bought the stuff to make the hot cocoa ornament.  So we’re closer on that front too.

My company has given me the OK to take all of Christmas week off!  Seriously!  I can’t believe it either.  I’ve worked every single Christmas Eve (barring weekends, of course) for the last 10 years.  And the day after Christmas.  Not this year.  Got told to shut down my computer.  I just said, “Yessir”.

I finally  have up the ceramic Christmas Tree my parents bought their first year of marriage.  It’s kind of a big deal to me.  I’ll post of pic of it later on maybe.

Here’s the list of cookies to be made (Santa has really high expectations at our house and I don’t dare let him down):

  • Snickerdoodles
  • Orange Ricotta Cookies with Dark Chocolate (my new fav)
  • Frosted Sugar Cookies
  • Czechoslovakian Kolache Cookies (I don’t know how Czechoslovakian they are.  I got them from my Church’s Ladies Guild Cookbook and I make them most years.  The FIL get a little teary-eyed if he doesn’t see a plate of them, and we can’t have that)
  • Chocolate Chip (I don’t know why but we have to make them)
  • Russian Teacakes (with and without walnuts)
  • Cinnamon Rugulach (my ex-husband’s all-time favorite cookie and one of mine as well. OK everyone in my house loves these)

I think that should make Santa happy.

With luck there will be baking tonight and an accompanying post.  I’m crossing my fingers.


9 responses to “So, What’s Going On?

  1. Mrs. C says:

    I’m so glad to hear you are getting some proper time off for Christmas. I personally would love it if everything shut down for the twelve days of Christmas except those bare minimum things that are necessary. I know that’s not realistic but in Mrs. C’s imaginary world, that would be a requirement.

    Your cookie list sounds amazing. I’ve given up trying to bake cookies before Christmas. We will pull out a few recipes while the girls are off school and do some baking then. It gives them something to do when they get soooo booorrred.

    Is your ceramic tree one of those with the colored lights on the tips of the branches? My grandmother had one of those and I loved seeing it at her house when I was a kid.

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    I found something!

  3. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Overwhelming cuteness!

  4. Bike Bubba says:

    Kolacky (singular “Kolach”, but who eats just one?) are very Czech–Montgomery, MN even has a festival for them. Nothing like driving through on HIghway 13 and seeing “get your keg for Kolacky days.” The MN version is a sweetbread filled with poppy seeds or fruit, the Chicago area version (my dad grew up in a Bohemian–ethnically not like the Village–neighborhood near Chicago) is heavy on cream cheese and is similar to Hamantaschen. Yum.

    http://www.montgomerymn.org/kdayindex.html

  5. I’m with you on the LED lights – how I long for regular old incandescent Christmas lights with their warm, candle-like glow…

Leave a Reply

