Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Happy National Cocoa Day

on December 12, 2014

And by this I mean the stuff you drink, not the actual cocoa powder (although it’s worth its own celebration).

It’s quite cold here in Chucktown – had to scrape frost off my windshield this morning.  Happily, there was a tin of Hershey’s™ Cocoa (the baking stuff) so I made myself a cup of their Perfectly Chocolate Hot Cocoa (recipe provided herein for your convenience):

  • 2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. Hershey™ Cocoa
  • Dash salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • ¼ tsp. vanilla extract

Mix the sugar, cocoa and salt in a large mug. Heat the milk in the microwave on high for 1½ minutes (or until hot) gradually add the milk t the cocoa mixture and stir well. Add the vanilla and enjoy.

Maybe you’re wondering if there really needs to be a methodology to make hot cocoa from scratch. YES there is and here is why. It’s necessary to mix together the sugar with the cocoa powder and then add HOT milk to the mixture because otherwise the cocoa will seize up and you’ll have clumps that (so help me) you can beat until kingdom come and they’ll still be there. It’s a chemistry thing and I’m not going into it – but the actual reasons are out there on the inerwebz, so you can check it out if necessary.

OK – now that we’re done with that, the other day I was hanging out of FB, admiring the craftiness of some of my friends, and then this adorable Felt Hot Cocoa Ornament from Flamingo Toes popped into my feed:

Cocoa Ornament from Flamingotoes

The photo isn’t mine – it’s from Flamingo Toes. Mine won’t be this perfect, but I’m going to try.

 

 

Isn’t this adorable!  I desperately want to make it.  Yes, all the stories are true – I can’t sew to save my life.  But that’s all about to change because I really really REALLY want to make this.  So, this afternoon I’m headed to Michaels to get the stuff needed.  Yes, I will post a pic when its done and no promises that it will be done today (I’m hoping by Christmas).

Anyhoo… here’s hoping that if it’s chilly in your neck of the woods that you’re keeping warm with some cocoa. And if it’s not chilly, well blast the AC until you’re shivering, whip up a mug of the hot chocolaty goodness and think of snowflakes.

12 responses to “Happy National Cocoa Day

  1. hearthie says:

    DH decided that today would be a good day to light the inaugural fire… and there’s a pot of fresh chili on the stove. Will there be cocoa tonight? Only time will tell…………

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Hot chocolate?! Can we come to your house?

  3. Heather says:

    Waiting impatiently for your project update 🙂

    @ hearthie chili and hot chocolate followed with a cinnamon roll = perfect post sledding meal.

  4. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Happy Sunday! Here’s a silly vide3.

  5. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Guinea pigs and too silly.

Leave a Reply

