Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Advent Baking Week 2 – Orange Ricotta Cookies with Dark Chocolate (updated)

on December 11, 2014

People.  If you don’t bake any other cookie this year, bake THIS one from Two Peas & Their Pod (a favorite place of mine to hang out). I’m a bit at a loss for words to describe them.  They’re puffy and moist and cakey and a little dense (but not heavy).  They’re fragrant with orange zest.  Not too sweet.  Coated in an orange juice glaze.  Drizzled with dark chocolate (I used the Ghiradelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chips – melted them in a Ziploc bag which I know you’re not supposed to do, then snipped the corner and liberally drizzled the chocolate over them). Angharad took some into work and came home with an empty tray and a bunch of requests for the recipe; Iseult announced that her friends devoured hers and would I please make more.  You bet I will. This is one of those recipes that I can see myself making over and over again and I can’t recommend it strongly enough. For those wondering why I’m not posting the actual recipe here, well, I thought I’d use this time to steer folks over to some of the sites I love.  Hopefully y’all will discover other delicious recipes that have your family and friends clamoring for more.

Edited to add a couple notes.

  • I used a large naval orange and a very fine microplane to zest it; ended up with about 1Tbsp. orange zest.
  • I used my OXO Good Grips Medium (1.5 Tbsp.) cookie scoop and they came out perfectly.
  • Bake these on parchment paper for a couple reasons – (1) they don’t stick and (2) you can slide the cookies on their sheet of parchment onto cooling racks and let them finish cooling there. But that’s not all. Just glaze them while they’re still on the parchment and you’ll have a lot less mess.
  • Finally – I needed a bit more orange glaze than the recipe called for and made up a little extra (1 Tbsp orange juice to 1/2 cup powdered sugar)Enjoy!

    The photo just does not do them justice. They’re one of the best things I have ever baked


6 responses to “Advent Baking Week 2 – Orange Ricotta Cookies with Dark Chocolate (updated)

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    This from the Andy William’s Show. There was a running gag about a bear that was always turned down for cookies.

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    All day and only my comment? Here’s another for all the girls in your house. Steve McQueen can’t ever go out of style.

  3. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    I am try to branch out a little on my videos. Here is something different.

  4. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    I am on an elephant kick.

    They love it!!!

  5. Maeve says:

    Fuzzie. I have to wonder how bears and elephants would get along.

    • FuzzieWuzzie says:

      Maeve,
      I think they would get along best by staying out of each other’s way.
      These elephant/piano videos are wonderful.

Leave a Reply

