Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Advent Baking-Red Velvet Gooey Butter Cookies

on December 4, 2014

Look what I made the other night – they’re all over the web thanks to the publication of THIS COOKBOOK (Dear Santa, please leave this in my stocking even though I’m trying to cull the cookbooks).

So, what’s with the “Advent Baking” thing? Well, I was thinking about all the tasty cookie recipes that keep hitting my FB feed and how I wanted to make them and then it came to me – make a new cookie each week and ship them off to folks who like getting cookies. Nifty, right?.

IMG_0347.JPG

Yummy Delicious Red-Velvety Goodness

 

OK, so about the cookies. They’re super easy, and they have that distinctive “red velvet” taste – you know the one: slightly chocolaty but with that particular flavor that can only come from an insane amount of artificial food coloring? Yep – that taste. I actually grabbed the recipe from Chef in Training (a terrific site – do check it out) and the only teeeensy weeeeensy adjustment I made (isn’t there always one with me?) was to add 1 tsp. vanilla extract.

One other thing is the sheer versatility of these cookies.  Let’s say you’re looking for a St. Patrick’s Day sweet – you can make them into Green Velvet Gooey Butter Cookies; maybe you’re thinking something pompous – go for Purple (it’s kind of the royal color, right?); Feeling Smurfy?  Do Blue.  The possibilities are endless (except I don’t think you could pull off yellow or orange or the like – the albeit small amount of cocoa powder in them would make for a mud-like color and that’s just nasty.

I’ll be posting another cookie next week, hopefully earlier.  In the meantime, take a break and whip up a batch of these lovelies. They’ll be perfect for your tree-trimming activities.

9 responses to “Advent Baking-Red Velvet Gooey Butter Cookies

  1. hearthie says:

    Does blue food coloring taste like blue jello? In that case, don’t make blue.

    I made a blue jello cake in place of the pink jello strawberry cake one year. Never bake blue jello.

    NEVER BAKE BLUE JELLO.

  2. Mrs. C says:

    If only I could reach into that picture and grab some to go with my coffee…they look heavenly. Your point about changing the colors for different holidays is a good idea. I think this one looks recipe-box worthy.

    It funny how you start out marriage collecting as many recipes as you can because you need them. Suddenly, one day you reach the point of deciding that if a recipe is going to gain space in your collection as a keeper, it must be knock-out spectacular to be worthy of the space.

    • Maeve says:

      I’m agonizing over this Mrs. C. Some are sentimental (because they were my mother’s) and some are such fixtures I think I’d feel like I wasn’t in my own home without them. Still, I have made some progress and I’m hoping to make more.

  3. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Those cookies look good. I’ll go to great lengths for food.

  4. Maeve says:

    LOL Fuzzie – that’s one determined bear! I’d better guard my cookies 🙂

  5. Elspeth says:

    You (and Alte for that matter) have some of the cutest plates. I don’t have any cute seasonal plate, :(.

    But the cookies look great. I always make adjustments to recipes as well. Gotta make it my own somehow.

  6. donalgraeme says:

    Somehow this didn’t show up on my WordPress reader until just now. Ugh. Well, the weekend beckons….

Leave a Reply

