Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Some Fun Things to Celebrate in December

on December 1, 2014

Can you believe it’s been a whole year of tasty happenings? More importantly, what am I going to do next year? And how will all my faithful readers know what to celebrate when if I don’t post these handy reminders? (OK, maybe I’ll figure out the Page function in WP and put them there for posterity – I don’t know).

December brings some wonderful deliciousness; I am also happy to report that there are no whiney appeals to our better consciousness this month.

  • National Fruit Cake Month (say what you will, it’s an important fixture)
  • National Egg Nog Month (without the You-know-what!!!)
  • Cookie Cutter Week First Week

And now for some Daily Devotions:

  • December 1: National Pie Day – Sort of maybe (there is some real controversy here – I’ve always held that 23 January is National Pie Day – and this was a big deal because it was my Daddy’s birthday AND pie was his favorite dessert. So, as far as this blog is concerned, 23 January is National Pie Day – but you should bake a pie today anyway because every day is a good day for pie)
  • December 4: National Cookie Day (dances with joy!)
  • December 8: National Chocolate Brownie Day (Oh Happy Day!)
  • December 9: National Pastry Day
  • December 12: National Cocoa Day
  • December 14: National Bouillabaisse Day (yeah, whatever)
  • December 15: National Cupcake Day
  • December 16: National Chocolate-Covered Anything Day (except insects)
  • December 17: National Maple Syrup Day
  • December 18: National Roast Suckling Pig Day
  • December 19: National Hard Candy Day
  • December 20: National Fried Shrimp Day
  • December 22: National Date Nut Bread Day (I don’t actually like it but lots of people do)
  • December 24: National Egg Nog Day (Yes – I will share my awesome recipe)
  • December 26: National Candy Cane Day
  • December 27: National Fruit Cake Day
  • December 28: National Chocolate Candy Day

Some Boozy Festivities…

  • Lager Beer Week Second Week
  • December 5: Repeal (of Prohibition) Day
  • December 10: National Lager Day
  • December 20: National Sangria Day
  • December 24: National Egg Nog Day (because some crazy people ruin eggnog with booze)
  • December 31: National Champagne Day

How the Heck did these get their own day?

  • December 6: Microwave Oven Day
  • December 30: National Bicarbonate Of Soda Day (Baking Soda)

Some Seriously Misplaced Observances…

  • December 1: Eat a Red Apple Day (September = Apples)
  • December 3: National Apple Pie Day (see note above)
  • December 6: National Gazpacho Day (Nothing scream WINTER like a SUMMER SOUP)
  • December 7: National Cotton Candy Day (because all the Fairs are in what season?)
  • December 13: Ice Cream and Violins Day (Ice cream AND violins?)
  • December 21: National Hamburger Day (shouldn’t this be on Memorial Day?)
  • December 25: National Pumpkin Pie Day (Thanksgiving is in NOVEMBER!)

 

Maeve’s note: There is no “Day” (National or otherwise) to recognize the deliciousness that is Sticky Toffee Pudding (I had it once as a small child and have never forgotten it). I’m making it this year for Christmas. I’m sure the (dead) Irish relatives are going to hurl (metaphysical) things in my general direction, but they can stuff it. If you haven’t ever had Sticky Toffee Pudding before, maybe you should make it this year as well. I’ll share the recipe I plan to use later on in the month.


9 responses to “Some Fun Things to Celebrate in December

  1. donalgraeme says:

    Shouldn’t National Pie day be on March 14?

    And thanks for the great list Maeve. Plenty to look forward to. And plenty to ignore.

    • Maeve says:

      LOL Donal – Pie Lovers Unite! I’m happy to bake a pie that day in your honor.

      Truly, I’ve loved doing these posts – and I think folks have enjoyed them as well. But I’m now wondering what to do as a monthly fixture next year – and I’m open to suggestions!

      (Hope you had a lovely Thanksgiving – I’m still eating turkey 🙂 )

      • donalgraeme says:

        Don’t forget, I’m not really a pie person… although if it has chocolate I might make an exception… =)

        Just repost them every year. Nothing wrong with that.

        Yeah, it was a nice, quiet Thanksgiving. And the turkey never seems to end, does it?

      • Maeve says:

        That’s right – you and Iseult – two peas in that alien pie-eschewing-pod.

        “Inconceivable”

  2. Elspeth says:

    Everyday can be hamburger day, Maeve. Just sayin’. But yeah, the rest of the ones on the misplaced list are quite out of place.

    • Maeve says:

      I can’t really argue about the hamburgers (also I can’t risk you hurling things in my general direction LOL). But really – COTTON CANDY? In DECEMBER?

      Le Sigh

  3. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Here’s one to share with Iseult.

  4. taylor says:

    December 15: National Cupcake Day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

