Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

This Past Weekend Chez Maeve

on November 24, 2014

Yesterday was National Espresso Day and I consumed rather a lot of it.  With extreme pleasure.  Was kind of wired all night, but hey – there’s always a price to be paid and it’s not like my Nook and Kindle (trademarks implied) aren’t loaded to the hilt with tons of unread books.

The Lovely Mrs. C and I were discussing her Thanksgiving menu and then she went and posted hers AND her method for roasting turkey.  I had planned to blog my menu this weekend, but then things got busy here Chez Maeve and also I got a bit distracted.  I did clean out the refrigerator, though and I also went to Bed Bath & Beyond and bought this cool refrigerator Lazy Susan thingie which is totally fantastic (if I get around to taking a pic of what a nice thing it did for my fridge then I’ll post it).  Then I actually made the menu, and the shopping list and then dragged myself to WALMART IN THE MIDDLE OF A SATURDAY AFTERNOON and by the time that was over, well, I wasn’t good for much else than a very nice Redds Apple Ale (or two).  I also went to the grocery store and it was almost as fatiguing.

OK – on with the menu.  I am hostessing Thanksgiving this year and this is a good thing from my perspective (actually it’s a good thing from everyone’s perspective).  My (former) in-laws are going to be here (I kept them in the divorce).  We will NOT be having cupcakes this year.  We will be having:

  • Roast Turkey (and if I could figure out a way to get the FIL to deep-fry it that would be even better, but it’s sort of rude to invite someone to dinner and then ask him to cook, even if he is your family).
  • Stuffing (not Dressing (there is a difference) – I don’t make it and nobody really cares all that much)
  • Mashed Potatoes
  • Gravy
  • Creamed Carrots (maybe with pearl onions)
  • Cranberry sauce
  • Green Bean Casserole (tricked out the way we like it with cheese and water chestnuts)
  • Macaroni & Cheese (because Iseult paled considerably when I mentioned that maybe we didn’t need to have it)

Upon reviewing the menu I noticed a rather conspicuous lack of green anything, so I’m adding some Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Dessert is tricky – people like different things…

  • Pecan Pie from The Silver Palate Cookbook (it’s really the best)
  • Libby’s Pumpkin Pie
  • Apple Pie (because otherwise my Mother will shoot lightning bolts at me)
  • Oreo Truffles (because Iseult doesn’t like pie – I know…it freaks me out too)

So there you have it.  Nothing exceptionally nouveau.  But it’s exactly what everyone wanted (and I opened it up for inputs from everyone)

Well, that’s all for now.  Guess I should report to my little part-time job 🙂


20 responses to “This Past Weekend Chez Maeve

  1. FuzzieWuzzir says:

    Maeve, Can I come over?

  2. FuzzieWuzzir says:

    Mega Cuteness. Couldn’t wait.

  3. hearthie says:

    I think our pie-non-eaters should form a group. (Mine isn’t against ALL pie, just any pie with cooked fruit in it).

    I’m making pumpkin pie and going to my mom’s house. 😀

    • Maeve says:

      LOL – non-pie eaters. They’re hiding in plain sight everywhere. Actually Iseult will eat chocolate cream pie as long as it’s in a chocolate cookie crust. Angharad likes the pie FILLINGS but is kind of meh on the crust. Me, I just adore it all. In fact, I think I actually prefer pie over cake (strange, I know)

      • FuzzieWuzzie says:

        Simple answer:invite a bear. We love pies, even minced meat!

      • hearthie says:

        I feel it likely that 10yo would eat pie with Iseult… chocolate cream pie sounds right up her alley.

        I prefer cake. Chocolate cake. With coffee frosting. But pumpkin pie is good, and I can eat that, if I make a nut crust. Which I will. 😀

      • Maeve says:

        Fuzzie – you bears are all alike. You’re a hostess’ dream – a guest who loves everything!
        🙂

  4. Mrs. C says:

    Maeve, Your menu sounds lovely. I’m with you. I love pie more than cake!

    However, you aren’t making stuffing? The one part of the meal that is my very favorite? What kind of people are you?! LOL!

    Really, though, it’s all about pleasing the loved ones around your very own table and if no one cares for stuffing then, so be it!

    I like the Mac and Cheese though! We have that at Christmas and Easter.

    • Maeve says:

      It’s there! It’s there The second bullet. You nearly gave me a heart attack! I saw your comment and gulped and feverishly launched WP, totally aghast that there was NO STUFFING on my menu.

      I’m actually going to use your turkey method this year and cook the stuffing separately (I saw a site which had it cooked in a bundt pan – so might go with that just for fun)

      I’ve already made the cheese sauce and the béchamel and cooked the macaroni. Tonight I will make the pie crusts and prep all the veggies for the stuffing, etc.

      Are you seated? OK – I’m going to use canned cream of mushroom soup for the GB casserole – I know I know I know…but maybe next year I’ll make my own. I doctor the casserole up with water chestnuts and tons of cheddar and it’s super yum. I’d never had GB casserole before I was married, and then that’s how my MIL made it, so that’s how I learned (my Dad, for the most part loathed casseroles unless it was lasagna or ziti, so my Mother didn’t really make them 🙂 ).

      Can we still be friends if you also know that I’m serving canned jellied cranberry sauce (I’m going to slice it and cut it into little turkey shapes with a cookie cutter if I can find the cookie cutter).

      • Mrs. C says:

        I saw it there but when you said ” I don’t make it and nobody really cares all that much)”, I took it to mean that you were stating that you weren’t going to make the stuffing. Ok, all is right with the world again! LOL!

        Maeve, you don’t need my approval to use canned. I even eat the canned when someone else makes it that way. I just usually have some homemade in the freezer that tastes so much better. We all cut a few corners when it comes to holiday cooking! We have to…there’s so much to do. Did you see I made my stuffing from white bread which is my supermarkets equivalent of Wonder bread? Some times you just gotta do what you gotta do to get by!

        My dad must always have jellied, canned cranberry sauce so it’s always on the table even though I adopted dh’s grandma’s cranberry salad because I love it as well. It’s made with Lemon Jello and is very 1950’s ish. I’ll be sharing that sometime in the next day or two.

        The little turkey shapes for the jellied cranberry sauce is so cute! I wonder what dad would say if I did that?

      • Maeve says:

        LOL – I meant that I don’t make (cornbread) dressing. I LIVE for stuffing (we must be related or something).

        You need to share your homemade mushroom soup – I’d much rather use something homemade if it’s there – although, I probably wouldn’t mention it – invariably there would be cries of “this doesn’t taste the same” 🙂

        I’m actually make my stuffing with “Captain John Derst’s Texas Toast”. I used to be able to buy “stuffing bread” up North, but this is cut thick and does a nice job.

        I think you should go all out and cut your cranberry sauce into cute shapes – you Dad will get a kick out of it. A pilgrim hat would be cute too.

        Are you starving yet? All this thanksgiving talk is making me drool. I swear I can smell the turkey cooking and it’s not even in MY refrigerator.

        At least this year I’m not thawing turkeys in my bath tub. 🙂

      • Mrs. C says:

        I have a link to the cream of mushroom soup at the end of my post today with my dressing recipes.

        You know, I AM starving from all the good smells of the foods that I’m precooking. (although as the cook, I have the privilege of at least sampling the food to make sure it tastes right.) My family is starving too. The poor dears are really deprived because not only do they have to smell all the food cooking for the holiday, they are getting really meager dinners this week because I don’t have time to cook that too. We’re talking “Make yourself a sandwich”, or “I’ll just whip up some scrambled eggs and toast real quick.” So cruel….

      • Maeve says:

        OK – I’ll check out the soup thing and I make that very same stuffing – only thing different is I use hot water rather than chicken stock, but I like that idea too and my just try it this year.

  5. donalgraeme says:

    because Iseult paled considerably when I mentioned that maybe we didn’t need to have it

    I’m with her on that one. Comfort food always has its place at a family meal.

    Oreo Truffles (because Iseult doesn’t like pie – I know…it freaks me out too)

    What is there to be freaked out about? Pies can be good, but if it is sweets you want, there are better forms out there.

    • Maeve says:

      LOL Donal – I’m quite incapable of internalizing the actual “not liking pie” aspect of my younger daughter. It makes her seem alienish (as in from a whole other galaxy) somehow 🙂

      I’m kidding – all she really wants is the chocolate. or caramel. or something gooey. All perfectly respectful.

      It’s actually my great pleasure to prepare anything my family likes, but sometimes I can’t help toying with them ever-so-slightly.

  6. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    Is it that I love everything because I’m a bear or because I’m a bachelor?

    You may want to check out this blog.
    http://thesunshinethiryblog.com/

Leave a Reply

