Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Guy Food that Girls Love

on November 20, 2014

Bacon-wrapped, Cheeseburger-stuffed Jalapeños !!!!!

I made these for dinner one night last week. No, we didn’t have anything healthy to offset the atery-hardening goodness. The inspiration came from Oh Bite It (by way of The Drunken Spatula on FB); I loved the idea but wanted to make them a little heartier so that I could sort of pass them off as a meal with a semi-straight face (how exactly do you manage that, Maevey? Well, you skip the cream cheese (!) and use shredded potatoes instead)

IMG_0314.JPG

Drool-worthy, aren’t they?

IMG_0312.JPG

Yes – they tasted as good as they look

IMG_0313.JPG

A close-up view (sorry it’s so blurry)

Want to know how I made them?

Brown together:
2lb ground chuck
1 bag frozen onion
2 Tbsp. chopped garlic (I used the refrigerated kind)

Once browned, dump everything into a colander and drain the daylights out of it.

Prepare the 20 jalapenos:

Slice in half lengthwise
Remove seeds and ribs if you don’t want too much heat (I removed them but on retrospect that was a mistake and I’m going to leave them in next time – well I might wussify a couple for Iseult; Angharad doesn’t care – she hasn’t run across a food hot enough for her to not add some Sriracha – go figure)

In a very large bowl, combine:

1 package Simply Potatoes Shredded Hash brown Potatoes (don’t use the frozen ones – too much liquid)
4 – 5 cups cheese (I used cheddar but next time I’m going 50/50 cheddar and pepper jack
The drained meat mixture
Salt & Pepper – not a lot

Toss everything together until well combined.

Pack generous handfuls of the cheeseburger mixture into the peppers and wrap with a strip of bacon (you see what mine look like).

How much bacon do you need? I’m not sure – buy two pounds – you want about 40 slices – OK you want a slice for each jalapeno; it’s not like you can have too much bacon in the house or anything, right?  RIGHT??????

If you have leftover meat mixture (I did) then bake it up in a small casserole dish and eat it with bagel or pita chips 🙂

I lined a baking sheet with some foil and then placed a large cooling rack over it. You don’t want to bake these directly on the baking sheet – they end up mushy (I know because I baked some of them that way and just weren’t as good). Bake them for about 45 minutes at 400 degrees F (I’m typing this directly into wordpress and can’t get the “degree” thingie-symbol, but you know what I mean).

They’ll be hotter than the sun when they come out of the oven, so try and wait a nanosecond before cramming one into your mouth (I take no responsibility for any injuries incurred due to a lack of self control).

So there you are….guy food girls love.

Make these today and head over to Oh Bite It for other eye-rollingly delish recipes (and if you’re not following The Drunken Spatula on FB, well, start now)

[I corrected the spelling of Spatula (misspellings kind of annoy me).  It’s the one word I can never spell correctly – it comes out Saptula or Spatual or Sapluta… you get the picture.  Le Sigh.]

Leave a Reply

