Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Fundraising, Iseult-Style

on October 20, 2014

Iseult:  Mama, we need to sell 20 cheesecakes

Me:      Who is “we” and why do we need to sell 20 cheesecakes?

Iseult:  The Sophomore class is selling them.

Me:      Great.  What’s with the 20?  That’s a lot of cheesecake.

Iseult:  That’s my goal.  I get entered into contests.  Plus it would be awesome.

Me:      Who are you selling them to.

Iseult:   Your people.

Me:       My people?  Who are “my people”?

Iseult:   You know.  People with money.

 

(You’d think I’d be used to this by now)


10 responses to “Fundraising, Iseult-Style

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    Don’t you know any starving bachelors?
    Nineteen to go.

  2. hearthie says:

    LOL My sympathies. I miss the day of candy bars – at least those sold quite well *in school*. But this is why I categorically refused to sell anything for school. Just call me an old spoilsport. 😉

  3. Elspeth says:

    That’s the one thing I can say for sure that I do not miss; the fundraisers.

    People with money….LOL.

  4. Mrs. C says:

    Maeve,

    I love that conversation…LOL..

    Ugh…I’m in the middle of Girl Scout magazine/nut sales. I have two girl scouts so I have to keep the orders from relatives and friends equal between them so one doesn’t earn a badge that the other didn’t get. Last year I ended up making up the difference between what we sold and what was needed to get the badges. Very expensive! I told them this year they would have to do without the sales badge seeing as how the ones they “earned” last year are in a little plastic baggie in my jewelry box. Totally not worth it since I’m not a magazine reader and essentially page through them real quick for about 5 minutes when they come in the mail and toss them right in the trash. Such a waste of money.

    @hearthie-yes! candy bars! Those sold like hot cakes and were much easier because the product was in hand. No filling out and shuffling order forms.

  5. Maeve says:

    The things that come out of that kid’s mouth…….

    The fundraisers make me crazy – and soon I’ll be doing the scout cookie thing (they’re planning a trip to Orlando – I’m trying to figure out how I can get in on that action).

    I told Iseult she needed to hit up some of her dad’s people.

  6. Bike Bubba says:

    My big objection to a lot of fundraisers is that you end up paying a ton for….can I say it….junk? My dad says he still has nightmares about the candy bars I had to sell for Little League. I have the same about the frozen pizzas my brother sold for marching band….mmmm salty greasy sausage that tastes vaguely of liver!

    • hearthie says:

      That’s why I miss the old candy bar sales – we got NICE candy bars and sold them for about twice the going rate for regular candy bars from the machines. Sure you hit your folks and their offices up a bit, but not like this stuff. (ITA – most of it is junk, expensive junk).

  7. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    You should have a link to call your very own. This is a sweet video!

Leave a Reply

