Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

The Spiceman Cometh (because fall is here I guess)

on October 1, 2014

I’m reblogging this because it’s that time of year again. That time of year when I get all twitchy because you know, “the spice that dare not speak it’s name” comes screaming to the foreground of all things culinary. Actually, it slithers in sneakily in the guise of “Pumpkin Spice” Fie on you Pumpkin Spice AKA n****g! Fie I Say!

Wannabe Martha

Some people are upset with Starbucks over their Pumpkin Spice Lattes. Apparently the “pumpkin mix” incudes condensed milk. The “some people” would be vegans. You can see how this would present a bit of a problem. Now, I’m not sure why anyone would actually want to be a vegan, but what I’m really confused over is why anyone wants their coffee infected with pumpkinyness.

I actually like pumpkin stuff – as long as it’s pie or muffins or cookies with cream cheese frosting. OK, Jack-o-Lanterns are fine too, but that’s it. I really don’t understand the all-things-pumpkin craze anymore than I understand the all-things-zucchini obsession.

Really though, it’s the whole “spice” combo that worries me. I’m sort of weird about spices and I harbor suspicions about the actual contents of the pumpkin-pie-spice mix. Mostly I suspect (and fear) that it contains nutmeg. Now, as far as I’m concerned (and have…

View original post 133 more words

20 responses to “The Spiceman Cometh (because fall is here I guess)

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    I had forgotten about “the spice that shall remain nameless”. For the next several weeks, you won’t be able to turn around without seeing “pumpkin” flavored anything.
    Poor Maeve!

    • Maeve says:

      I know the stuff is EVERYWHERE! And notice how it’s not the cinnamon/clove/ginger combo that’s causing me the heartburn – it’s that other thing.

  2. hearthie says:

    I like nutmeg. I don’t like premixed spices. I like pumpkin. I don’t like pumpkin flavored *coffee*. Coffee with cream and sugar and a um… dangit, I can’t eat muffins anymore. Well. Coffee with a nice slice of pumpkin pie? Yes.

    I have no desire to put my pie INTO my coffee, because that’s just wrong.

    FWIW, OSC is on record as referring to frappucinos as milkshakes for grownups. -giggles-

    • Maeve says:

      Ha! I say the same thing about Frappucinos (particularly as I’m guzzling them down LOL).

      I don’t (generally) like premixed spices either, Hearthie and I think the pumpkin pie recipe on the can of Libby’s Pumpkin is the best – has the most even taste not too much of any one thing.

      Wish you could eat muffins tho – I just made a batch of my pumpkin crumb muffins (receipe on this blog) this morning – house smells amazing. Thank heavens I gave them all away or they’d gave been wolfed down in a couple minutes. 🙂

  3. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    It may help if your mind has a fall back. For me, honey glazed doughnuts work.

  4. Elspeth says:

    I like nutmeg. Even better freshly ground, but I do agree that the proliferation of pumpkin pie spiced stuff is ridiculous.

    And why are we buying spice mixes when we have entire cupboards full of all the spices needed to make the specialty spice?

    I’ve never quite understood the point of that…

    • Maeve says:

      I don’t understand it either, Elspeth. I actually like mixing up my own mélanges because I can tweak them to suit our tastebuds. Plus I know the spices are fresh and that can really make a difference.

  5. Mrs. C says:

    I’m right with you Maeve and most others here. I like pumpkin desserts, breads, muffins etc but can’t stand the coffee creamers and candies. I do like nutmeg though and mix my own spices with the exception of poultry seasoning. Our local bulk spice seller has a blend that’s just right for my family’s tastes.

    • Maeve says:

      Here’s my real beef with nutmeg – it’s an incredibly dominant spice and all too often it’s administered (LOL) with a too-heavy hand – AND it repeats on me for days. I just can’t get the taste out of my mouth and just developed a real aversion to it for primarily that reason.

      • Mrs. C says:

        Maeve dear, in that case, you have every right to rid that evil from anything you eat! LOL!

        Also, I wanted to mention to look for my post tomorrow at my site. Your site is mentioned. It’s all good, so don’t worry. 🙂

      • Maeve says:

        Thank you for the heads up. Over the last month or so, I’ve been trying to curtail my time spent online over the weekend (essentially Friday evening – Monday morning), although I do occasionally post my Sunday ridiculousness. But even then, I do try and have the post ready and then just hit publish on Sunday.

        I’ve been finding a lot of the time spent online was making me extremely down and disheartened (sp?). I think taking the weekends off is good for me in a lot of ways.

        But I do need to get a post up – I made this fall chicken Milanese salad last Sunday for brunch that was so delish I must share (because you know the Honeycrisp apples won’t be here forever 🙂 )

  6. Bike Bubba says:

    I’m with Elspeth on spice mixes. We have cupbboards full of spices and we need to buy premade mixes?

    But a rejection of nutmeg? Let’s just say I’m probably one of the offenders in our gracious hostess’ worldview, even putting it in the hot chocolate mix I make.

    • Maeve says:

      Mr. Bubba – you deliberately contaminate your hot chocolate with the stuff?

      I feel a bout of vapors coming on…….

      • Bike Bubba says:

        Hit the fainting couch and have a wonderful weekend, my friend! :^)

        I might not “fit in” in a lot of the south…..real quote from a college roommate about my chili was “Are you trying to burn off my taste buds with this stuff????!!” No nutmeg, but about six jalapenos. Mmmmmmm…..

  7. allamagoosa says:

    *Quickly hides a pumpkin spiced chai behind her back and grins sheepishly* Um, just wanted to drop by and let you know I realized you weren’t on my blogroll and have corrected the error posthaste.

    I love pumpkin stuff because I didn’t have to fight over it with my brother, who ate anything and everything (else) without consideration for anyone else.

    • Maeve says:

      I have to laugh about the chai – I went on what seemed to be an endless search for chai that didn’t involve “that stuff”. So finally I ended up with a scrumptious chai from Twinings – and I love it with raw sugar and milk. The smell of the spices is just positively therapeutic LOL

Leave a Reply

