Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Some Fun Things to Celebrate in October

on October 1, 2014

October is going to be a jam-packed Fun-O-Rama of tastiness! You don’t think so?  Well, check out this month’s Observances and then get back to me with it.  Check out the complete list over at The Nibble and enjoy all the tasty goodness!

  • National Apple Month – already up to my eyebrows in Honeycrisps
  • National Caramel Month
  • National Chili Month – maybe I’ll have a weekly chili feature
  • National Cookie Month – perfect excuse to try out a new cookie
  • National Dessert Month
  • National Pasta Month
  • National Pork Month
  • National Pretzel Month – do pretzels need an entire month?
  • National Seafood Month
  • National Chili Week (1st Week)
  • October 1: Pudding Season Begins – Did you know Pudding had a season? Yeah, me neither.
  • October 1: Homemade Cookies Day – and I have cookie recipes here on this blog – make some
  • October 3: National Caramel Custard Day
  • October 4: National Taco Day – let’s see…beef? Chicken? Shrimp? Pork? Fish?
  • October 6: National Noodle Day
  • October 7: National Frappe Day – makes me think of Shrek and Donkey
  • October 8: National Fluffernutter Day – I’ve never had one; must correct the oversight this year (maybe)
  • October 8: National Pierogi Day
  • October 9: Moldy Cheese Day (we presume they mean blue cheese mold)
  • October 9: Submarine-Hero-Grinder Day (also known as “How to Tell What Part of the Country You’re From” Day)
  • October 10: National Angel Food Cake Day
  • October 11: National Sausage Pizza Day
  • October 12: National Gumbo Day
  • October 13: National Yorkshire Pudding Day – you know there’s an implied Roast Beef here as well, right?
  • October 14: National Dessert Day – I need to think about what my favorite dessert actually is and make it!
  • October 15: National Chicken Cacciatore Day
  • October 17: National Pasta Day
  • October 18: National Chocolate Cupcake Day – see my recipe for Wellesley Fudge Cupcakes with Ganache
  • October 22: National Nut Day
  • October 23: National Canning Day – I can’t can, but this is here for my friends who do
  • October 24: National Bologna Day – This is here for a particular reason that doesn’t really have anything to do with the eating of bologna – stay tuned
  • October 25: National Greasy Foods Day– I’m not kidding – this is really here: an excuse to indulge in your guiltiest of culinary pleasures…..
  • October 26: Pumpkin Day– great day for my Pumpkin Muffins AND Pumpkin Cookies
  • October 26: Pretzel Day
  • October 27: National Potato Day– where French Fries come from
  • October 28: National Chocolate Day– Is there really anything I can add?
  • October 28: Wild Foods Day – I don’t think they meant what I thought they meant
  • October 29: National Oatmeal Day – particularly if baked into a cookie
  • October 30: National Candy Corn Day
  • October 30: Buy a Doughnut Day – it’s never actually a bad day to buy a doughnut
  • October 31: National Candy Apple Day – they could have stopped at “candy”

Boozy Goodness

  • National Applejack Month
  • American Beer Week(2nd Week)
  • October 4: National Vodka Day
  • October 16: National Liqueur Day
  • October 27: American Beer Day

Dishonorable Mention for Extreme Killjoy Preachiness

  • Vegetarian Awareness Month
  • October 1: World Vegetarian Day

Social Issue “Holidays” – When fun is hijacked by the Perpetually Humorless

  • Fair Trade Month
  • National School Lunch Week (2nd Week)
  • National Food Bank Week (2nd Week)
  • October 16: World Food Day
  • October 31: Trick or Treat for UNICEF Day

(Note – I’m a big supporter of food drives and food banks, so maybe I can stomach Food Bank Week, but there’s just something wrong about the UN encroaching on Halloween. Let them get their own damn day)

Curious Omission About Which I’m Not Even Remotely Sorry:

  • Pumpkin Spice (I promise I won’t rant about it anymore – see round about this time last year)

Note – I know I referenced that there are recipes on this blog and, there are. That being said, I’m rather inconsistent at categorizing and tagging, so finding them might be a bit of a challenge.  Or rather like playing hide-and-seek.

 

EDITED TO ADD:  I hereby extend a massive thank you to Taylor because otherwise I would not have noticed that my days were all out of order and there would have been a very good chance that I’d have missed National Taco Day.  We don’t really want to ponder the terrible ramifications of this.


6 responses to “Some Fun Things to Celebrate in October

  1. taylor says:

    YOU ARE MISSING NATIONAL TACO DAY! yes, shouty caps! It’s an important day.

    • Maeve says:

      I did not you crazy woman!!! it’s right there – October 4th! And you’re darn right it’s an important day. I plan on stuffing my face full of them LOL.

  2. taylor says:

    Oh wait, it’s there.. whew. Just out of order.

  3. […] encourage my family to eat these and because my blogging pal Maeve at Wannabe Martha always puts up a great list of National Month/Week/ Day of (name some type of food) each month, which I have been having fun trying to observe as many as I can, I made Caramel Apple […]

Leave a Reply

