Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Celebrate Banned Book Week

on September 23, 2014

Pick up a copy of any Junie B. Jones book and indulge in some laughing-out-loud zaniness.

Then close the book and ask yourself the following:

Someone actually objected to Junie B. Jones?

Really?

Demanded it be removed from a school library as inappropriate?

Shake your head and realize that there are some people who will find fault with absolute anything.  Especially if there’s any hint of humor or fun.

Other books I can recommend as equally hilarious:

Emil in the Soup Tureen by Astrid Lindgren

Ellen Tebbits by Beverly Cleary

(Emil and the Soup Tureen, is actually a Swedish children’s book and if you can get your hands on a copy(plus any of the other Emil stories), do so – also grab any stories about the Bullerby Children – they’re absolutely wonderful).

OK.  I’m going to stop here.  It’s not that I don’t feel there’s a good discussion to be had about whether or not some books are appropriate for school aged children (in fact, I do believe that), but the absurdity of some objections just has me shaking my head in frustration.

Seriously.  Junie B. Jones?


8 responses to “Celebrate Banned Book Week

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    I was going to leave something profound but, these people who object are just beyond silly.

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    It’s very nice to receive bear cuteness. Thank you!
    This may be a first.

  3. Bike Bubba says:

    Hang in there, Fuzzie.

    I am surprised I’d, with six kids, never heard of Junie B. Jones. I guess there are a lot of worthwhile children’s books out there, some of which (e.g. those by Mark Twain) also show up on this list.

    (my favorite time someone wanted to ban a book from her family; she argued that since there was a witch in “The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe”, that it ought not be read….I guess 1 Samuel 27 was also off limits, and it was strange how the woman could not be convinced that since Jadis was a picture of the Devil, it was OK)

    But the more important question; have you gotten a waffle iron yet? :^)

    • Maeve says:

      Mr. Bubba:

      (1) Get Thee some Junie B. Jones
      (2) There is no waffle iron chez Maeve (sniff) – I promised myself that I would get one once I had my kitchen organized. I rather like imposing conditions on myself – sort of creates win/win situations for me – organized kitchen AND waffle iron!

      🙂

Leave a Reply

