Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Happy National TV Dinner Day!

on September 10, 2014

One of the (few) disadvantages to growing up overseas is that we did not enjoy the TV dinner.

Well, that and the fact that my mother would have cut off her hand before buying them.  And if she had, my dad would have assumed that the pod people had come and taken over (we were big fans of Invasion of the Body Snatchers – the real one).

I flirted with the idea of celebrating this observance by making my own version of the TV dinner, buying the trays (you can get them on Amazon) and renting vintage TV programs.  But then reality reared its ugly head – I’m on work overload; Iseult has late lacrosse practices every night (and I’m running 20 miles up and back to get her) and Angharad has a beastly schedule.

So, instead, tonight I’m making a supper version of last Sunday’s brunch – Country French Omelet and Arugula & Strawberry Salad.  No fuss and super tasty.  I’ll post pics if I can remember.

In the meantime, if you haven’t made your dinner plans, it’s not too late to throw together your own TV dinner tribute (even if you serve it on regular plates).

swansonmeatloafdinner

The Classic!

 

8 responses to “Happy National TV Dinner Day!

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    Yes, it’s bachelor food. I’ll confess. When there is only one person in the house…Now, yopu know why some bachelors like the idea of being amrried.
    Food is a maifestation of love.

  2. Mrs. C says:

    Maeve,

    Just as we spoke about on your other post, I’m following through on honoring tv dinner day just for a bit of mid-week fun. I originally planned to get the classic type tv dinner like you pictured above, but I just couldn’t do it. I just couldn’t serve those hard, rubbery vegetables. Yep, it wasn’t the mystery meat but those awful veggies sitting there in their little compartment in all their shriveled glory.

    I’ve decided to instead serve the classic frozen chicken pot pie. At least the veggies in the pot pie are helped along by the gravy. I chose the $2.69 per pot pie Marie Callendar version in the hopes that the food is a great step up from the .89 per pot pie Banquet version.

    I can also round things out with a nice healthy crisp salad so all is not lost in the nutrition department. LOL

    • Maeve says:

      Those pot pies are a great idea! Maybe I’ll do that too. And still have my salad (which Iseult won’t eat, but that’s her problem). Will this be their first-ever frozen dinner? You must report back the reaction.

      • Mrs. C says:

        This will be their first frozen dinner at home other than the famed chicken nuggets that little ones seem to relish from time to time. Those I only give in on when the two older ones have picked that as their choice birthday dinner when they were small. Thank goodness I’m seeing their tastes becoming more refined as they get older.

        They also each get $20 a month to buy school lunches. This buys about 9 lunches a month to which I’m sure they are exposed to frankenfood. The rest of the time, they pack.

        I may be taking a chance here that they’ll like the pot pies and have something new to ask for their birthday dinner. Of course, if that happens the poor dears will have to make do with the real thing. TV dinner day is all in good fun but we won’t be making it a habit.

  3. Mrs. C says:

    Ok, ty dinner day has officially been celebrated. The girls loved it since we had a carpet picnic in the living room and watched our family favorite “The Middle”. They didn’t really say much about the food itself. The pot pies were somewhat better than the ones I remember my mom serving when we were little.

    Yes, I grew up with a stay-at-home mom who was a wonderful, sweet person, didn’t smoke, didn’t drink, kept a tidy house and definitely lacked skills in the culinary dept. I grew up on frozen fish sticks, Weaver fried chicken, Hamburger Helper, Kraft Mac n Cheese, frozen pizzas, hot dogs, Campbell’s Condensed Soups and french fries. Add to that canned fruits and veggies, Wonder bread pb & j’s or Oscar Mayer bologna sandwiches w/ processed cheese slices. She did slice bananas into our cereal every morning and gave us our Flintstones vitamins so at least there was that. Shudder….

    She meant well. She didn’t have a good role model. Her family was extremely poor with an alcoholic father. She said they ate a lot of hot dogs, fried bologna and macaroni fried in lard. Bless her heart. I really did think she believed she was feeding her kids better than she had it growing up. Of course, in the 70’s the information on how bad these foods were wasn’t as prevalent as it is today.

    • Maeve says:

      YAY for celebrating TV dinner day! It’s so cute that you did the picnic thing. I love doing that.

      I really did think about it, but then had to drive some 20 miles to Iseult’s school and pick her up after lacrosse and it was late when we got back and I was beat. So we went to Duke’s BBQ and did takeout (and it was so delish!).

      (We love The Middle too)

Leave a Reply

