Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Waffles – La Nouvelle Yum

on September 5, 2014

Me:  I need a waffle iron

Mack: You don’t have room for one.

Me:  I fail to see how that’s an issue

Mack:  Because you’re out of real estate in your kitchen

Me:  I’ll make room

Mack:  No you won’t.

Me:  How can you say that?

Mack:  Look around Maevey…

Me:  It’s not that bad

Mack:  Wrong

Me:  I need a waffle iron

Mack:  Why?  You’ve gone all this time without one.  Why now?

 

Well, let me show you why…..

Take this one – Jonathan over at the Candid Appetite has Dark Chocolate Zucchini Cake Waffles that look more like dessert and do not get me started on his Fried Chicken & Waffle Sandwiches (I already linked to them once, but another won’t hurt).

Then there’s this – The Tater Tot Waffle Grilled Cheese (where the Tots are the bread made into waffles – I KNOW I KNOW I WANT TO EAT THAT TOO – it showed up in my Facebook feed and I nearly dove into the monitor) – now I can’t find it but when I do, the link will be here.

Then There’s this gem:  Cinnamon Roll Waffles from Recipe Girl (I know there are some recipes for putting you Pillsbury Cinnamon Roll dough in the waffle iron, but this is a little more chichipoopoo (pronounced “shee shee pooh pooh” – it’s a kissing cousin to La Di Dah only it sounds a little snootier).

Not Your Mama’s Cookie has RED VELVET WAFFLES (tip – you can actually make “any-color you-like” Velvet Waffles).

Finally…Sugar Bean Bakers have these luxurious sounding Vanilla Bean Liege waffles (and I’m so ordering that Belgian Pearl Sugar).

So you see, I NEED a waffle iron.

Let’s vote on it

 

 

 

 

 

 


33 responses to “Waffles – La Nouvelle Yum

  1. hearthie says:

    I have two sinfully delicious waffle recipes that are gathering dust… you could be making either the Joy of Cooking (butter) waffles or some overnight waffles from a friend of mine that are …. well.

    I feel as you can eat wheat, you should have these recipes. But get a waffle iron that you can immerse in water, not one of those dang electric ones. You can get them online.

  2. donalgraeme says:

    Ah, waffles… how I miss thee….

  3. Bike Bubba says:

    Here’s my grandfather’s waffle recipe, with which he helped put himself through school at the U. of Iowa.

    http://bikebubba.blogspot.com/2006/01/thought-and-recipe.html

    I call this kind of thing “Heaven Food,” because it’ll get you to Heaven more quickly, if you catch my drift. Or the other place, if that’s your preference.

    My waffle irons are from Nordic Ware (made in U.S.A., hooah!) and are wonderful on everything from a smoothtop stove to a camp stove. Yes, they’ve been used on both. Available at Penney’s, Macy’s, etc..

  4. I eventually got rid of my waffle iron. Too hard to clean. 🙂

  5. Mrs. C says:

    By all means, Maeve, have a waffle maker and think nothing of adding it to your kitchen. Just take something out that you don’t use anymore and put the waffle maker in it’s place. Simple.

    I found a fabulous one (brand new in the box) for all of $2 at a yard sale. It was being sold by a woman who claimed she was too busy to cook (eye roll). Can you imagine? Serving up waffles from a cardboard box when you can have them all crispy, hot and made fresh in your kitchen? LOL

    I think I know what the family is having for breakfast tomorrow….thanks for the inspiration!

  6. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    It occurs to me that if you have someone to argue ove the acquisition of kitchen appliances with, you have no need of a silly old lonely single bear for a cheering section.
    I’m hungry for a sandwich.

    • Maeve says:

      Fuzzie! What is this madness you speak??

      • FuzzieWuzzie says:

        Maeve,
        Who is Mack and why do you need his approval for a waffle iron?

      • Maeve says:

        LOL Fuzzie – Mack is my neighbor and is not the only one to voice some measure of skepticism regarding my affirmation that I will, in fact, use the waffle iron. Lest I give the wrong impression, I don’t routinely buy things I don’t use, but kitchen appliances and or bake/cookware are something of my down fall (and you thought it was shoes and handbags, didn’t you?) . Plus there is the undeniable fact that an unused brioche mold and some English muffin rings reside, unused, in my kitchen cabinets – so I can’t really claim any measure of plausible deniability.

        Mostly I thought the exchange was a funny introduction to my main topic – “these ain’t your grandma’s waffles” 🙂

        (and the shoes and handbags are my downfall as well)

  7. hearthie says:

    Overnight Waffles by Monica

    1/2 c lukewarm water
    1 T sugar
    2 1/4 tsp yeast (1 pkg)
    2 c whole milk, warmed to about 105 degrees
    1/2 c butter, melted and cooled
    1 tsp salt
    2 c flour

    2 large eggs, lightly beaten
    2 tsp vanilla
    1/4 tsp baking soda

    The night before, or at least 8 hours prior, combine the warm water, sugar and yeast. Let stand 10 minutes until foamy.

    Stir in warmed milk, melted butter and salt. Beat in flour until smooth, using a whisk. Wrap bowl tightly in plastic and let it stand overnight on the countertop. DO NOT REFRIGERATE.

    When ready to cook, preheat your waffle iron and while it heats, stir in the eggs, vanilla and baking soda.

    Pour batter into waffle maker and proceed as per iron’s instructions.

    • Maeve says:

      These sound amazing! Now, between these, and Mr Bubba’s and the ones I referenced in my post, I’m sure that some poor orphaned waffle iron is out there just waiting to move into my kitchen.

  8. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    My apologies for leaping to a conclusion. I had thought that you had someone in your life that I was not aware of. Just call me a silly old bear.

  9. Elspeth says:

    I voted yes because what kind of foodie chick doesn’t have a waffle iron?

    Just get rid of some other kitchen/gadget appliance that you never use and know you’re not going to use. That’ll make room for the waffle iron.

  10. Elspeth says:

    Ha! I should have read all the comments so I wasn’t simply repeating what Mrs. C said. Oh, well.

  11. Bike Bubba says:

    Quick story about my grandpa’s recipe. When my grandmother gave it to me (grand-dad died six years before I was born), my dad, brother, and I (parents were divorced) started to do it every Sunday morning. Strawberries, whipped cream, and then one time for Christmas, my brother and I got those 5 lb Hershey bars. So that went on too. We joked about the 4000 calorie waffles we were eating. I adapted it later with whole wheat flour, which actually improves it IMO.

    Good times, though I try not to eat Hershey anymore, unless it’s their Scharffen-Berger brand. And I just might have to give Hearthie’s version a try, too.

    • Maeve says:

      That story is so cute! Sounds like you invented the “everything but the kitchen sink waffle”.

      Every once in a while Iseult begs me to take her to IHOP so she can have that ridiculous chocolate pancake with the chocolate chip face and whipped cream – you know what I’m talking about? I’m thinking that with a waffle iron, I could surpass that entirely – and be better than IHOP. HA!

      How come you don’t eat Hershey’s anymore?

      (I want to make your recipe and Hearthie’s. I tend of think of waffles as fall/winter food, so now is truly the time for me to start hunting for a waffle iron. I will report back.)

      • Bike Bubba says:

        I just might have to try Hearthie’s recipe, too. Tried sourdough pancakes this morning and did not, shall we say, succeed. :^)

        And the reason I don’t do Hershey’s is simple. Summer in Europe back in 1989, got used to the fine products from Lindt, Tobler, and such, and I just couldn’t go back. The same trip made me hopeless for Folger’s and Bugweiser. Got back, somebody served me one of the latter, and I realized after two sips I couldn’t taste anything. That canoe joke is the truth, if ya catch my drift.

  12. […] is experiencing an existential crisis waffling about getting a waffle iron. Although fate might have intervened. [Posts included herein due to my love of all things […]

Leave a Reply

