Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

The Sun Rises, Sure, But So Does The Moon

on August 27, 2014

You know how you can’t look directly at the sun without incurring significant ocular damage, right?  Not so much with the moon.  Last night amid another tedious bout of insomnia, I did just that – went outside, parked myself in a lounge chair and just did a little moon gazing.  I let my thoughts roll over me and I noticed that the slight veiling camouflage of moonlight lets me actually see and appreciate the loveliness that is my home instead of all the little imperfections that I know are there.

I think I see better in that softer light – maybe because it’s also a filter of sorts, and there are fewer distractions.  Sure, you can see everything very clearly in the sun – but that’s the problem, right there – EVERYTHING.  I don’t need to see everything.  I don’t even need to see everything exactly the way it actually is all the time.  Sometimes the stark coldness of reality obscures a better truth – that there is beauty and love and grace all around us, just waiting to be noticed and appreciated.

So I’m putting my rose-colored glasses back on – at least during the day.  What’s the worst that can happen – I fail to notice some other flaw somewhere?  I’m sure some helpful person will be more than happy to point it out to me.  Meanwhile, I’ll get my head (and heart) right again.

4 responses to “The Sun Rises, Sure, But So Does The Moon

  1. Mrs. C says:

    Lovely thoughts, Maeve.

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    I don’t know what is getting to you. Let’s hope that a little silliness will help.

Leave a Reply

