Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Desperate Times Call for Desperate Measures

on August 26, 2014

So, umm, just what the heck is that Maevey?

 

IMG_0209.JPG

Maeve’s General-All-purpose-Mood-Enhancer

Why it’s a spoonful of peanut butter with chocolate syrup on it.

Isn’t that sort of the universal female answer to all our travails? You got something better?

14 responses to “Desperate Times Call for Desperate Measures

  1. Mrs. C says:

    In a pinch, if you don’t have chocolate syrup you can roll the peanut butter in chocolate chips! You just can’t beat the peanut butter/chocolate combo IMHO.

    • Maeve says:

      OK Mrs C. – I actually have this recipe for peanut butter oatmeal honey balls that I sometimes throw chocolate chips in – and you don’t bake them either. I got the recipe from nutritiouseats.com – her recipe calls for maple syrup, but I found that it sort of masked the PB and then I added the mini chocolate chips. Divine 🙂

      • Mrs. C says:

        That does sound divine. My oldest made delicious peanut butter no-bake cookies this past weekend. I had my hand in the cookie jar far too often, I’m afraid.

      • Maeve says:

        Those sound good too. Are they the kind you mix up on the stove and drop by spoonfuls to cool (I seem to remember making some no-bake chocolate cookies in that vein, but it’s been a long time)

  2. Mrs. C says:

    Yes. Basically, butter, sugar, vanilla, and peanut butter melted together then mixed with old fashioned oats and dropped onto a cookie sheet to cool. She didn’t add chocolate but that would have been good too.

  3. hearthie says:

    Erm. When it’s that sort of day I just melt some chocolate and go at it with a spoon.

  4. Elspeth says:

    Ha! I just made a low carb chocolate cake with almond flour in the slow cooker. Topped with whipped cream. Worked well for me today as I am tired.

    Yeah, yeah, I know. Not exactly ‘indulgent’ But I’ve been eating way too much cake lately, and I have another cake to bake this weekend.

    In my opinion, chocolate syrup on just about ANYTHING is great. Dark chocolate bars with hazelnuts? Even better.

    Maevey, check your email.

  5. Jenny says:

    Salted peanuts and chocolate chips is fun, I’ve been experimenting with making my own chocolate out of coconut oil, cocoa, and truvia lately. it’s not bad.

Leave a Reply

