Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

A Little Friday Randomness

on August 22, 2014

There is, apparently, such a thing as “Artisanal Lard”. I KNOW. WHO KNEW AND HOW HAVE WE SURVIVED SO LONG WITHOUT IT?

You can use a regular old mason jar as a blender container (well, as long as you’re not using one of the extremely special ones that have an odd shape). I don’t have a blender at this time – we had a bit of a falling out.

The best way to clear your coffee/spice grinder is to use rice. I’ve actually used kosher salt, and that works pretty well.

Feeding coffee beans to elephants so they can hang out in the pachyderm’s intestines and them be pooped out apparently produces the most fabulous coffee. And I’ve discovered that there are limits to my love for coffee.

Some kid at Summerville High School got arrested at school and suspended because for a creative writing assignment, he wrote about shooting a dinosaur. SOUTH CAROLINA’S EDUCATIONAL SYSTEM…THE GIFT THAT KEEPS ON GIVING (see, apparently other states were having all kinds of fun arresting their students for stupid s**t instead of just, you know, telling the kid to knock it off – of all the things SC was jealous of and wanted to match other states, this had to be it? Really? Le Sigh)

Oh yeah – I still haven’t been convinced to read “Outlander”, nor The Book Which Shall Not Be Named (nor any of it’s sequels). But I did pick up Hannah Jayne’s newest Underworld Detection Agency novel, “Under A Spell” in actual paper format so I can read it in the water.

4 responses to “A Little Friday Randomness

  1. Mrs. C says:

    Why didn’t I know about the rice or kosher salt for cleaning out the coffee grinder? Does that work for the electric ones or is that for manual ones? I love fresh ground coffee but do not love trying to clean around the little blade when I use it.

    • Maeve says:

      The Kitchn has the tip about rice, but I always used salt to clean my electric grinder; then I use a really clean pastry brush to “dust” out any residue; it works great. One of those natural fiber brushes (actually a make up brush would be perfect – fluffy and soft fibers)

      • Mrs. C says:

        Ah, The Kitchn. Always a font of kitchen-y wisdom. I’m going to try your method. Better than wiping with a damp rag, rinse, repeat, several times.

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    HJave some fun reading.

Leave a Reply

