Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

I’m Cranky Today

on August 19, 2014

And so I’ve allowed myself to get into a bit of an argument about why Outlander IS NOT my cup of tea (so much to choose from – adultery; beating your wife; rape; the list is just endless).  I’m actually really very liberal in my reading – as in, there ain’t much I won’t read (just finished re-reading The Bees – FANTASTIC and I might write a review of it – Thank You Miss BC for the recommendation), but even I have some “nope – not going there” territory.  Part that gets me is that there are CATHOLICS making excuses about the adultery because of “time travel” – and this with CATHOLIC “hero/heroine” (I deliberately use the quote marks because I don’t find any of it particularly heroic.

Anyway – I’m annoyed.  Mostly I’m annoyed that my objections are being dismissed as “not fair to the books” and “you shouldn’t talk about them if you haven’t read them” – well, I think it’s fair to say I don’t want to read them because there are elements which just revolt me (I’m certainly not saying others can’t read or even enjoy the books; I’m just stating WHY I don’t want to read them – and that is apparently not fair or some such BS).

So anyway, I’m annoyed.

[Edited to add – really – I’m very broad in my reading tastes:  Mystery, Romance, SciFi, Fantasy; Historical Fiction; Biography; Dystopian stuff; PNR; Urban Fantasy – yep – I read it ALL with great pleasure]

[Edited again, because clearly I’m not done here.  It’s not that I can’t read a book with rape in it – quite the contrary; in fact, one of my favorite series has the main character suffer a terrible rape, but – and this is the salient point – IT’S NOT BY THE MAN WHO CLAIMS TO LOVE HER, it’s by the villain.  I consider this a rather important distinction.  Also, I don’t mind Le Sex in my reading either (I’m not actually a prude) – but there just isn’t anything romantic or sexy about adultery – deceiving your spouse and violating your marriage – yeah – uh, nope.  And finally – man hits his “beloved” – I’m DONE; just NONONONONONONONONO.

I might be back again.  I’m not sure.]

[Yet another addition – And apparently I can’t keep away from the discussion.  Maybe getting some work done would be a nice diversion, no?? Le Double Sigh]

[Also I am a glutton for punishment, apparently, because I can’t keep my mouth shut; er, fingers off the keyboard.]


17 responses to “I’m Cranky Today

  1. Mrs. C says:

    I must really be out of the loop because I’ve never heard of Outlander. However, based on your description, I don’t think it would be my cup of tea either. How in the world anyone could fault anyone for choosing to not read a book because they disagree with certain themes in the content is beyond me or to say you can’t have an opinion about said themes without reading it is rubbish.

    • Maeve says:

      Mrs. C., you can find gushing tributes to Jamie (the hero) all over the internet; all the ladies in Romancelandia luuuuurve him and think he is the mostest romantic man what ever was written on paper. Of course, there are factions that hate the books. You don’t actually have to read them (Outlander is the first) to hear all about what’s going on in them.

      I really want to add more thoughts about why we’re not allowed to say why we don’t like a book or want to read a book. Apparently it’s fine to give all the reasons for why you loved some work, but it’s “judgemental” to state WHY you don’t like something.

      Personally, I don’t care what people read and I think we should be Zblw to say why we do or don’t like a book, without others taking it as some indictment of them personally.

      I don’t think my rant is over yet.

      • Mrs. C says:

        Rant on, my dear! I think you’re right.

      • Maeve says:

        I think I just need to read something. I have a new book waiting for me – Ilona Andrews’ new Kate Daniels’ book and I just need to carve out a little quite time and immerse myself in it. I fact, maybe I’ll drag a chair to the beach early this evening and set up camp, so to speak.

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    It did take me a while to figure out what you were talking about. There is a happy thought in all this. This may well be the first instance of a romance novelmaking the leap to the screen.
    That could be a good thing if it’s not repreated.
    I’m not too much a fan.

    • Maeve says:

      MEH, Fuzzie. There are so many other great books which could make the leap. I’m actually a huge fan of romance (and mystery and scifi and fantasy and UF and horror and PNR, etc – I love it all) and I’m not opposed to making romances into film (Nicholas Spark – blech, gag – does not count); but this would be the one picked. Just GRRRRRRRRR.

      • FuzzieWuzzie says:

        Maeve,
        I have one. Bears take over the world. Everyone is happy, especially children.
        I don’t think we could get producers to buy into it/ 😦

      • Maeve says:

        HA Fuzzie – Linda Howard wrote a book called Prey and actually there is a man-eating bear as a character, if you wish; we get a sort of from-the-bears-POV as he stalks and guts his victims.

        I loved that book. Lots of people hated it.

        Yeah – it’s a romance – what of it??????????

  3. Bike Bubba says:

    I hope Bears take over the world, too. 2-0 in the preseason, putting those jagulars and eagles in their place. :^)

    Seriously, I’ve not heard of the book in question, but I just explained the concept of “50 Shades of Gray” to my wife and, per Dave Barry’s HILARIOUS send-up of the book, asked her that all important question of whether she’d like me to tie her up and whip her. She must have been talking with Dave Barry’s wife, because they gave exactly the same answer of “no”.

    Actually, she was incredulous that such a book could make the big time. My thought is that our culture is so desperate for masculinity, they’ll take a pathetically fraudulent version just to get a whiff of it.

    • Maeve says:

      Mr. Bubba, to use one of my favorite expressions WRT The Book That Shall Not Be Named: GAG ME WITH A PITCHFORK ALREADY.

      I need to read Dave Barry’s take on it. I remember when it came out and all of Romancelandia was just in an apoplectic swooning fervor. I never understood the appeal (the main dude just sounds like a complete d**k to me – pardon the language). And then last week I read Lady Sigyn’s take on it and it just made me want to howl – so I was quite glad I never shelled out the funds for it. And really, you can learn everything about it without ever reading a word because – hello – the swoonage is everywhere (check out goodreads and see what I mean)

  4. hearthie says:

    I think BB is right, it’s the patriarchy. But it’s NAUGHTY patriarchy with sex. So, um… better? -eyeroll- You can only be a patriarch if you’re willing to wear leather.

    A good chunk of the mommies on one of my boards read it. Some of them confessed that the first one was badly written (including the sex) and yet they bought the other two books.

    Why? If you want that sort of thing, there’s plenty out there. Surely you can find something with better writing. Maybe the attraction is in the group swoon? I don’t get it.

    Last time I was stupid enough to read a “everyone swoons” book I was sorely disappointed. If they make a film out of it, I’ll just not read it, thank you.

    • Maeve says:

      You know, Miss Hearthie, I’m kind of leery about the “group swoon” thing too. They hype makes me nervous. I’m not sure if that’s a good or bad thing, though. I get concerned that my determination to “not be part of the mass luv-fest” might actually get in the way of something I could enjoy – I mean, I love getting recommendations for new books and just because a lot of people like some work doesn’t mean I should dismiss it out of hand. Of course, I could just be acting like a stubborn mule or something. LOL

      • hearthie says:

        I will never forget how disgusted my dad was one year when a book he’d read and enjoyed made the best-seller list. WHILE he was still reading it, I recall. Hey, it’s not just you. 😉

        And don’t read any of the True Blood series, even if you’re really in the mood for a trashy vampire novel. There’s my anti-recommendation.

      • Maeve says:

        I tried to read them Hearthie, long before they became “True Blood”, but they just didn’t work for me (think I pushed through the 4th). Ditto Anne Rice – just never could get into them. But there are others…..(ahem Sherrilyn Kenyon ahem – I’m a card-carrying fangurl and I admit it; also Patricia Briggs)

    • Bike Bubba says:

      If wearing leather makes patriarchy OK, do my shoes and belt count? :^)

      But actually, I didn’t even go to patriarchy, but simply noted that our culture is super-hungry for masculinity and will take the “SPAM” version if the real version is not available.

Leave a Reply

