Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Day One – and I made the list

on August 13, 2014

So, the Day One assignment for The Kitchn Cure was – make a list of the things you like and don’t like about your kitchen.  I took a few minutes last night to think about it and here’s my list.  I’m treating it as a preliminary exercise because it may very well be that by the end of this exercise some of the “don’t likes” just go away.

Things I like about my kitchen:

  • My refrigerator – or rather I like that it’s not a side-by-side fridge
  • The floors – they’re pretty and easy to keep clean
  • My new faucet – looooove the high arch and also love the dishwashing liquid dispenser
  • My tall cabinets – lots of storage space
  • The Pantry – there’s a lot of space

 

Things I don’t like about my kitchen:

  • The lighting – it’s awful and it’s also surprisingly dark
  • The sink – I despise these porcelain/cast iron sinks – they’re extremely brittle; you so much as TAP a plate or glass on it and the item shatters; plus it’s a PITA to keep clean.  Desperately want stainless steel (much more forgiving in every way).
  • There’s no place for a trashcan
  • The color – everything is white (and now it’s looking pretty dingy)
  • The cabinets – because the laminate is peeling off them and they just look nasty
  • The pantry – it’s kind of awkward – very deep (things get lost in the back) and there’s a ton of wasted space at the top
  • The clutter

I’ve been thinking a lot about stripping off the laminate on the cabinets and painting them.  Maybe I’ll take the doors off some of the upper cabinets.  I’m hoping, mostly, that in addition to using this exercise to organize my kitchen, it will help me realize a vision for it.  I’m going to make the effort to objectively look at how I utilize my space, the things I’m keeping, and what I can realistically do to increase my enjoyment of the kitchen.  It’s going to be a lot of fun.

 

IMG_0178.JPG

Yes, I know there are dirty dishes. People live here.

IMG_0180.JPG

Notice how I manage to use up every square inch of counter space so that I can’t actually do anything!

IMG_0179.JPG

Don’t freak out – we did do the dishes (eventually)

IMG_0177.JPG

It’s out of focus, I know, but helps me to look at the layout

9 responses to “Day One – and I made the list

  1. donalgraeme says:

    Responding here instead of the other thread.

    Best of luck with the “total kitchen evaluation.”

    Some bits of advice:

    1) create a “map” of your kitchen on paper. Perhaps even using MS paint, to show all the appliances and storage spaces. Then print several copies. Fill in one with where everything is now. Then use the others to plan where things can/will go.

    2) If you have a rolling cart or storage container, keep it in/near the kitchen. As you move things about put them there, instead of on the floor or on the counters. Will help make moving things easier.

    • Maeve says:

      Love those ideas – and I’m also going to take pics of the inside of each cabinet as I tackle it – that way I can look them over and really where/how I’m not utilizing the space in the best way possible.

      Wish I had a cart, but I’m thinking of borrowing my neighbor’s card table for that very purpose.

      Iseult’s very “paint”-friendly – may just get her to do the layout for me.

      • donalgraeme says:

        Takings photos is a great idea. Always nice to know where you started from. You can also take photos with different setups to see which you like the most.

        A card table just outside the kitchen would also work

        And if your (younger, right?) daughter has the skills, put them to use! Make her earn her keep. =)

      • Maeve says:

        LOl – yep – I do need to put her to good use (but she starts school NEXT MONDAY FOR CRYING OUT LOUD) so need to get her cracking on it now. One of the biggest issues I face is that I’m quite vertically challenged (5’2″) and can only realistically reach the 2nd shelf (and only the stuff in the front), so I tend to cram things into spaces somewhat higgledy-piggledy (yes, avalanches are not entirely uncommon occurrences). I have an extreme case of “counter-creep” and that frustrates me too. I know what the real problem is: TOO MUCH STUFF – and we all know what that means I have to do. Le Sigh!

      • hearthie says:

        LOL Maeve. I’m not doing this – too much other stuff on my plate – but I will sympathize with your being vertically challenged. And how do we get to the stuff on the top shelves? We stand on the counter, that’s how. Also tongs are really excellent for getting things from higher shelves, aren’t they? 😉

      • Maeve says:

        Yes, Miss Hearthie – I’m regularly using tongs to reach stuff. (I stand on the counters too – and yes, I DO SANITIZE THEM afterwards)

  2. Mrs. C says:

    Maeve,

    Here are two excellent blog posts on organizing your kitchen.

    This one talks about flow and good organization

    http://www.likemotherlikedaughter.org/2010/12/flow-in-kitchen/

    This one talks about horizontal surface management

    http://www.likemotherlikedaughter.org/2010/12/horizontal-surface-management-in/

    I think you will like the posts. She’s really practical and down to earth. Not at all unrealistic and magazine-y (is that word?)

    Also, you might want to get a step stool for those higher cabinets. (If you don’t already have one) Something light and easy to maneuver that can fold away. I have one like this

    http://www.walmart.com/ip/Cosco-Products-11308PBL1E-Cosco-Two-Step-Big-Step-Folding-Step-Stool-with-Rubber-Hand-Grip/34845944

    It’s not at all pretty but it can be opened and closed with one hand and it stores in a small tight space where it isn’t easily seen.

    • Mrs. C says:

      Also wanted to mention to read the comments on those posts. Lots of good advice from the readers as well.

    • Maeve says:

      Thanks for those links – I’m definitely going to check them out. And I think the comments are always a treasure trove of information. This little exercise has me very motivated. I’m looking forward to a great outcome.

Leave a Reply

