Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Jumping in with Both Feet

on August 11, 2014

So I DID IT! I signed up to participate in The Kitchn’s “The Kitchn Cure” – the boot camp for getting your crap together and deep cleaning/organizing your kitchen.

My weekday time is seriously limited, so I’ve opted for the weekend version – I’ll get a once-a-week e-mail with all five of the week’s assignments and then can work my Saturday morning on them. Of course, I can just check out The Kitchn’s website every day to get that day’s To Do, and get it done if time permits. Today’s task: make a list of what you like and don’t like about your kitchen. I don’t need to wait for the weekend, so I’ll do that tonight – and maybe I’ll post about it (to keep me honest).

Anyone else up for taking on their kitchen with me?

7 responses to “Jumping in with Both Feet

  1. Mrs. C says:

    Oh, I am….i’ll join in. Not officially though. I wish this were starting after school starts but I will unofficially follow along and do what I can. I may or may not post about it. We’ll see.

    Today’s task….make a list….I love lists….getting things done on lists…well, I try.

    • Maeve says:

      LOL – I love lists too (mostly I love crossing things off my lists); I’m also enlisting the girls in the kitchen endeavor – they have pretty good organizational skills and since we ALL use the kitchen, we can ALL get on board with getting it in shape.

      Went ahead and got all the cleaning products I need and I’m making a vinegar spray to use for cleaning the fridge (because I always feel off about using the chemical-based cleaners in there, know what I mean?)

      • Mrs. C says:

        I mainly use vinegar spray for the kitchen too. Good idea to enlist the girls! Assemble the troops….

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    Want some help?

  3. donalgraeme says:

    I actually did a pretty thorough cleaning a few months back. Plus emptied out stuff I didn’t need, etc. Of course, as a bachelor with a relatively small kitchen, that is an easy task. I imagine it is something else entirely if one has a family.

    • Maeve says:

      I’m using this exercise as a means of “total kitchen evaluation”. I know, for certainty, that I’m not using my space wisely and I know there are tons of items taking up real estate that don’t need to be there. Hopefully, by the time this is done, I’ll not only have cleaned the kitchen (which I actually do on a regular basis), but I’ll have cleaned out the space of things I don’t use or don’t really want anymore.

Leave a Reply

