Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Some Fun Things to Celebrate in August

on July 29, 2014

August is tasty, tasty, tasty.   Brownies! Sandwiches! Chocolate Chip Cookies! BACON!  There’s just too much to love.

I don’t actually love everything celebrated this month, so I omitted those. Inasmuch as The Nibble doesn’t play favorites the way I do, head over there for the complete list and celebrate your favorites.

Some things to observe (without guilt) all month long:

• National Brownies At Brunch Month (See, there’s nothing wrong with the early consumption of brownies)
• National Panini Month
• National Peach Month
• National Sandwich Month (Think BLT, Grilled Cheese, Theatre Steak, Kentucky Hot Browns)
• National Apple Week Is The Second Week (I don’t get this – shouldn’t it be September or something?)

And now for some daily celebrations:

• August 2: National Ice Cream Sandwich Day (you can’t trust people who don’t like ice cream sandwiches)
• August 3: National Watermelon Day (OK, so it’s not my favorite, but hey, it’s summer…)
• August 4: National Chocolate Chip Cookie Day (Le Joy…Le Utter, Complete, Joy)
• August 6: National Root Beer Float Day (I survived on these my entire 3rd trimester with Iseult)
• August 8: National Zucchini Day (I know – zucchini – but what can I say, I like it)
• August 10: National S’mores Day (the actual s’more – not the fancy-schmancy s’mores renditions of everything that’s taken over P*****est)
• August 11: National Raspberry Tart Day
• August 12: Julienne Fries Day (Who doesn’t love skinny fries?)
• August 13: National Filet Mignon Day (because otherwise how can you have Theatre Steak?)
• August 14: National Creamsicle Day (have one and remember kid-hood)
• August 15: Lemon Meringue Pie Day (I don’t actually like meringue; Love with whipped cream tho)
• August 16: Bratwurst Day
• August 17: National Vanilla Custard Day
• August 18: National Soft Ice Cream Day (AKA Trip to Dairy Queen™ Day)
• August 19: Potato Day (because you can’t have French Fries without them)
• August 19: Hot & Spicy Food Day
• August 20: Lemonade Day
• August 20: National Chocolate Pecan Pie Day
• August 22: Eat a Peach Day (actually, eat a peach every day in August)
• August 24: National Peach Pie Day (going to share my two favorite recipes)
• August 26: National Cherry Popsicle Day
• August 27: National Pots de Crème Day
• August 28: National Cherry Turnover Day (Just get some from Pepperidge Farms™)
• August 30: National Toasted Marshmallow Day (another opportunity for guilt-free S’mores)
• August 31: Eat Outside Day (yay – more picnic)
• August: 31: International Bacon Day (one of the most glorious days of the year!)

A couple of Boozy Days too:

• August 16: National Rum Day
• August 25: Whiskey Sour Day

The Dishonorable Mention for EXTRMELY PREACHY KILLJOY observance goes to:

• August 29: More Herbs, Less Salt Day

11 responses to “Some Fun Things to Celebrate in August

  1. donalgraeme says:

    Another great month of culinary delights to look forward to. Thanks Maeve!

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    Stay cool.

  3. Mrs. C says:

    phfttt!!! I say as I stick out my tongue to National Zucchini Day. I’m just about finished with zucchini MONTH around here so I think I will hide under my covers when that one rolls around. The rest of August looks divine!

    Mrs. C.

    • Maeve says:

      LOL Mrs. C. – I was actually thinking of you when I left it there. Maybe you can have a Dishonorable Mention post for zucchini that day. 🙂

      • Mrs. C says:

        I may just have to do that….I have a terrible Tex-Mex zucchini casserole recipe that would fall under the Dishonorable Mention category. I even said was making it that night in one of the comments on your Hot Dog post. Well, that dish was a real stinker. I hate it when a recipe looks so promising and ends up a complete flop!

      • Maeve says:

        LOL – you need to post it with a warning. I agree it’s awful when you’re trying something new and it “looks” delish. Then it hits the table and everyone just stares at you with “you made THIS for dinner? Don’t you love us anymore?”

  4. Bike Bubba says:

    The radio today was noting that August 5 is National Underwear Day. I think you celebrate by wearing it, not eating it, thankfully.

  5. […] Maeve tells us Some Fun Things to Celebrate in August. […]

Leave a Reply

