Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Some Fun Things to Celebrate in June

on June 5, 2014

It’s late, I know and I apologize. In my own defense, I’ve been busy installing blinds in my office (OK, Mack is installing them for me, but I’m the official helper – which is still a little scary). Also, I had some difficult paperwork to deal with and work is (thankfully) out of control busy.

There are a lot of lovely things to observe in June – like National Doughnut Day tomorrow. They truly are a secret vice (SHHHHHHHH!). I’ve never made them before, but over at The Candid Appetite, Jonathan has up a recipe for the most sinfully delicious looking Baked Chocolate Salted Caramel Doughnuts and I’m seriously thinking about making them. Because I can. Isn’t it nice to be the boss of you LOL?

As usual, I haven’t listed all the observances, just the ones which speak to me. Head over to The Nibble and check out all the great Food Holidays for June.

Happy Noshing!

  • First Friday: National Doughnut Day – (JUNE 6TH this year folks!)
  • June 4: National Cheese Day
  • June 5: National Gingerbread Day (if I could figure out how to making the gingerbread my mother used to buy when we lived in Helsinki, I’d be over the moon)
  • June 6: National Applesauce Cake Day
  • June 7: National Chocolate Ice Cream Day
  • June 10: National Iced Tea Day
  • June 10: National Black Cow Day (Make root beer floats to observe) Le Yum
  • June 11: National German Chocolate Cake Day
  • June 12: National Peanut Butter Cookie Day
  • June 13: Kitchen Klutzes of America Day (You know who you are – celebrate proudly!)
  • June 14: National Strawberry Shortcake Day
  • June 15: National Lobster Day
  • June 17: Eat All Your Veggies Day (I harbor suspicions about this – sounds like THE MAN trying to squelch fun AGAIN!!!!!)
  • June 17: National Apple Strudel Day
  • June 18: National Cherry Tart Day
  • June 18: International Picnic Day (I know it’s a Wednesday this year, but I think we’re going to have a picnic dinner at the beach)
  • June 20: National Vanilla Milkshake Day (my favorite is a black & white, but I can handle a good vanilla shake too)
  • June 21: National Peaches and Cream Day
  • June 22: National Chocolate Éclair Day
  • June 22: National Onion Rings Day (I like the crispy ones, but I know some people really like the puffy battered ones)
  • June 23: National Pecan Sandy Day (Keebler™ Elf Day?)
  • June 24: National Pralines Day (Worth a day trip to Charleston just to have one)
  • June 25: National Catfish Day
  • June 25: National Strawberry Parfait Day (I might just make this and then enjoy while watching Shrek – the original one)
  • June 26: National Chocolate Pudding Day
  • June 28: National Ceviche Day
  • June 30: National Ice Cream Soda Day

4 responses to “Some Fun Things to Celebrate in June

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    I’m a little late with this but, since your whole house is into re-enactment…

  2. lifesabanquet1 says:

    Hi there! My name is Heather and I was wondering if you would be willing to answer a quick question I have about your blog! My email is Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com 🙂

Leave a Reply

