Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

I’m Dink and I Know it

on June 3, 2014

I KNOW I KNOW IKNOW!!!

It’s 03 June and no food holidays!  I’m sorry – will try and get the post finished (and there’s not much you’ve missed anyway).

Things have been a bit on the crazy side here the last couple weeks – I’ve started and ditched more posts.  The washing machine seems to have issues filling and I think the oven has PMS (yesterday morning I baked some muffins and the turned out concave instead of convex – how does that happen?).

Also Iseult is annoyed because yesterday I made her sit on the washing machine during the spin cycle while I was washing a comforter. For some reason it likes to go all off-kilter and dance around the laundry room and I needed something to weigh it down.  She was handy.

One good thing tho – went to the beach last night and was reminded of the many blessings in my life.

 


5 responses to “I’m Dink and I Know it

  1. Makes me think of this poem by e.e. cummings:

    maggie and milly and molly and may
    went down to the beach(to play one day)

    and maggie discovered a shell that sang
    so sweetly she couldn’t remember her troubles,and

    milly befriended a stranded star
    whose rays five languid fingers were;

    and molly was chased by a horrible thing
    which raced sideways while blowing bubbles:and

    may came home with a smooth round stone
    as small as a world and as large as alone.

    For whatever we lose(like a you or a me)
    it’s always ourselves we find in the sea

    • Maeve says:

      Michelle, that poem is wonderful! It’s been a long time since I’ve read any cummings, but I’m definitely going to need to correct that.

      I know it’s not related at all, but that poem made me think of Eugene Fields’ “Wynken, Blynken and Nod” (which I’ve always loved).

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    Washing machines>>> Hmmmm….

Leave a Reply

