Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

TGIF and All That Jazz

on May 30, 2014

If I could get a refund on this weekend, I would.

Let’s recap, shall we?

Sunday- the STBExH takes (almost) the last of his stuff; and Angharad’s truck gives up the ghost.

Monday – the only decent day Chez Maeve – I move furniture in the living room and see potential.  Also I come up with a very tasty new cocktail that’s sort of like a Mimosa, but also has pomegranate and lime juice.

Tuesday – We find out that yep – there’s no resurrecting Angharad’s truck; so we go vehicle shopping (plus I work about 12 hours); also Angharad’s summer classes start and Iseult takes her first set of midterms (and she only has to take four because she exempted three, thank goodness).

Wednesday – We find an awesome car for Angharad – a payment she can afford and I will cosign her loan .  OTOH, the insurance is 200% more than what was on the truck; I have an ever-so-slightly-argumentative discussion with her dad about the need for him to provide “some” assistance.  Yay – small victory.  Plus I work 12 hours.

Thursday – I have to go to DMV to get a duplicate title for the truck, because I can’t find one.  Loss of 2 hours of my life.  I head to dealership where Angharad and I sign paperwork – and we have a happy girl (I lose 3 more hours).  Also, Iseult twists  her ankle in an uncharacteristic display of clumsiness; I just forget about work because why bother at this point.  I make this tasty dinner:

20140530-134301-49381792.jpg

Buffalo Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Friday – Um, it’s looking stormyish.  I don’t really mind because I’m not even getting out of my pajamas today.  Once again I’m ever so grateful for telecommuting.  Oh yes – and Iseult takes her last two finals, so technically my baby is now a Sophomore in HS.  Maybe I’ll schlep the laptop to bed and just work from there.

(Clearly I need to bake something.  It’s my one tried and true strategy for getting out my frustrations.)

 


4 responses to “TGIF and All That Jazz

  1. Elspeth says:

    So sorry you had to waste hours at the DMV. Bummer.

    On the up side, the buffalo chicken lettuce wraps look extremely tasty.

  2. Maeve says:

    Elspeth, these wraps are our preferred fast good; just a rotisserie chicken, some butter and Texas Pete all simmered together; pile on a lettuce leaf (or tortilla) with diced celery and shredded pepper jack (Iseult just likes ranch dressing on hers) and there you have it. Easy Peasy! 🙂

    DMV was a bummer, but thankfully Angharad is all set and I’m actually happier about this car; she works all day and takes night classes and I was really fretting about the truck breaking down at midnight on the highway.

  3. hearthie says:

    Sounds like one of those weeks you are glad to see in the rear-view mirror… not just because they’re awful, but because you got an awfully lot done.

  4. Mrs. C says:

    I really hope you had a more relaxing day today than the rest of your week. Hope the weekend brings you much leisure as well.

Leave a Reply

