Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

I’m All Schtroumpf-ed Out

on May 30, 2014

THIS little song has been running through my head for the last half hour….

Cest le schtroumpf, schtroumpf, schtroumpf
Qui fait schtroumpf, schtroumpf, schtroumpf
Un ptit schtroumpf, deux ptits schtroumpfs, trois ptits schtroumpfs
Schtroumpf, schtroumpf, schtroumpf
La la la la schtroumpf
La la schtroumpf, schtroumpf, schtroumpf
La la la la la la la la schtroumpf, schtroumpf, schtroumpf
La la la la schtroumpf
La la la la schtroumpf, schtroumpf, schtroumpf
Avec le schtroumpf, schtroumpf, schtroumpf
Qui fait schtroumpf, schtroumpf, schtroumpf
Un ptit schtroumpf, deux ptits schtroumpfs, trois ptits schtroumpfs
Et cest le schtroumpf, schtroumpf, schtroumpf…

(repeat ad nauseam)

Confused?

OK – when I was a little girl I lived in Paris (the one in France). My brothers and I were completely plugged into all aspects of French kid culture, as we attended French schools (OK we attended L’Ecole Active Bilingue), and were big time fans of Les Schtroumpfs (known here in the US, as Smurfs) – the books AND the cartoons.  Anyhoo, on my kitchen windowsill is a little Schtroumpf and for reasons I cannot explain, the little song has been rolling through my head (I’m no musician, so I can’t get the notes down), but you have to understand that the brothers and I used to sign this song at the top of our lungs as kids.  I just caught myself singing it out loud while I was filing away some papers.

Maybe it would be a good idea to end the work week a little on the early side.  I’m clearly schtroumpfy today.

LOL


2 responses to “I’m All Schtroumpf-ed Out

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    Here’s something different to displace the song in your head that you can’t get rid of.

Leave a Reply

