Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Why There are Gargoyles in my Living Room

on May 28, 2014

They’re actually “grotesques”; in order to be “gargoyles” they must be part of the cathedral’s drainage system.

Their names are Rosencrantz and Guildenstern and they came to our house about five years ago. We were hosting a Halloween party and I forgot to take them down from their perch. Months later, while we were putting up the Christmas Tree, Angharad asked if we were planning to ever take them down. I decided not. If they were good enough to grace Notre Dame de Paris, then surely they could watch over my little SC living room. So we went to the pet store and bought them the little Santa hats & beards that you put on small dogs, and then dressed them up for the occasion.

Most people don’t even notice them. I find them rather endearing.

(I have replicas of the some of the more famous gargoyles from Notre Dame; my Dad had them in his office and then they came to live with me, but R & G are my favs.)

6 responses to “Why There are Gargoyles in my Living Room

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    It sounds like you’re on the mend. I was going to add this to the last thread. It looks like bears can get down in the dumps too.

    Stupid humans! Don’t they realize that bears are social. They already know how hard it is to get them to mate. Why would they break up a couple?

  2. Jenny says:

    I’m glad you’re happy.

  3. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, considering your last comment, I thought this may help. Wishing you the best.

Leave a Reply

