Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Tuesday Night Baking

on May 13, 2014

Iseult is studying for a test tomorrow. What’s a nice Mama to do? Uh, bake a skillet chocolate chip cookie, that’s what. We love these and we’d love them even more if there was some vanilla ice cream in the house, but there isn’t, so we’ll have to make do with the cookie.

20140513-204949.jpg

You can find the recipe right here at the Tasty Kitchen Blog (warning – venturing into the Tasty Kitchen site is dangerous; it’s like falling down the rabbit hole and getting lost in Wonderland – you’ve been warned – proceed with caution).

11 responses to “Tuesday Night Baking

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    That’s a BIG cookie!

  2. I think I will make that cookie this weekend. That is seriously is a awesome looking cookie. My family will be pleased and with so many of us, it will go quick! With ice cream of course.

    • Maeve says:

      It’s so yummy, Ouida. I made it with regular chocolate chip and they melted sort of (as you can tell), but we’re a make-do-with-what-you-have-on-hand kind of family here, so that’s what I did.

      I rather like baking things in my cast iron pan (mine in 9-inch, BTW – I know the recipe calls for 8-inch, but hey – 9 works great). Anyway, I’m thinking of trying an upside down cake in it – maybe blackberry. I used to make this really tasty kutchen, but I’m having a hard time tracking down the recipe. I’ll post pics if I do other baking in it.

      Hope your family enjoys it. 🙂

    • Maeve says:

      Ouida, I can’t locate the lechion sauce recipe that I jotted down and put somewhere SAFE – I know it was garlic, and white vinegar and salt, right? Can’t remember if you added anything else. Can you set me straight on it? 🙂

  3. I’m so glad I happened to check back in here! I went to find where I had originally posted it.

    Preheat oven to 450. Salt meat liberally. Place in pan with a rack. Place fat side up. Place in oven for one hour. Turn temp down to 350. Meanwhile, (I use a mason jar) take 2 cups white vinegar (I’ve never tried apple cider vinegar) and about a TBSP of salt. Chop up 6-8 cloves of garlic. Mix together well. Meat cooking time will depend on size of meat. Once done, the fat should have turned into a hard shell. From here I have 6 children lined up waiting to eat it as soon as I break it apart. It is greasy goodness for sure. I let the meat sit 15-20 minutes then husband cuts it up. Pour garlic vinegar sauce in serving containers (if you have ever been to a Asian market you would have seen the cute little dishes used for serving sauces.) dip the meat in and enjoy.

    Hope this helps!

  4. Just made this and I am enjoying its goodness so much. Thank you for sharing.

    • Maeve says:

      Ouida, I’m so glad your family enjoyed it! It makes me so happy when I can share something delicious with others.

      I’m making your roast pork tomorrow and I’m making Elspeth’s turnip fries. Some friends are coming over and I think this dinner will be a hit.

Leave a Reply

